Thursday, April 28, 2016

REVIEW: Forget Me Always by Sara Wolf

Forget Me Always

Title: Forget Me Always
Series: Lovely Vicious #2
Author: Sara Wolf
Publication Date: Nov 1st 2016 (first published Feb 8th 2014)
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Rating: 5 stars
Light meets dark. Secrets meet truth. 
It's been three years, twenty-five weeks, and five days since Isis Blake fell in love, and if she has it her way, it'll stretch into infinity.
After a run-in with her mom’s ex-boyfriend, she scrabbles to remember what she’s lost to amnesia. Her ex-nemesis Jack falls deeper into a pit of despair, and his girlfriend Sophia does all she can to keep him to herself. But as Isis’ memories return, she finds it harder and harder to resist what she felt for Jack, and Jack finds it impossible to stay away from the only girl who’s ever melted the ice around his heart.
As the dark secrets surrounding Sophia emerge, Isis realizes Jack isn’t who she thought he was. He’s dangerous. But when Isis starts receiving terrifying emails from an anonymous source, that danger might be the only thing protecting her from something far more threatening.
Her past.
***This book contains language and sexual scenes, some of which may be unsuitable for younger readers. 

Monday, April 25, 2016

BLOG TOUR & GIVEAWAY: Painting Sky by Rita Branches

Painting Sky

Title: Painting Sky
Author: Rita Branches
Publication Date: April 25th 2016
Genre: New Adult, Romance
Nobody ever said life was easy...
People pleaser, Jane Skylar wants nothing more than to earn her art degree, start her life, and bask in the bliss of living with her boyfriend.
But things don't always go as planned...
Struggling with her creative side, Jane finds herself in turmoil, often confiding in her roommate - another, more talented art student, Keith Hale. Keith just so happens to be her boyfriend's older, brooding brother. After a devastating breakup, Jane turns to Keith for comfort. But when the lines blur between roommate and lover, Jane's life becomes more complicated than ever before.
When Keith's past comes back to haunt him, their lives all get turned upside down, forcing the truth to surface. Now Jane must fight for what she wants--even if it hurts everyone she loves.

Monday, April 18, 2016

REVIEW: Manwhore by Katy Evans (Manwhore #1)


Title: Manwhore
Series: Manwhore #1
Author: Katy Evans
Publication Date: March 24th 2015
Publisher: Gallery Books
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Erotica
Rating: 5 Stars
Is it possible to expose Chicago’s hottest player—without getting played?
This is the story I've been waiting for all my life, and its name is Malcolm Kyle Preston Logan Saint. Don’t be fooled by that last name though. There’s nothing holy about the man except the hell his parties raise. The hottest entrepreneur Chicago has ever known, he’s a man’s man with too much money to spend and too many women vying for his attention.
Mysterious. Privileged. Legendary. His entire life he’s been surrounded by the press as they dig for tidbits to see if his fairytale life is for real or all mirrors and social media lies. Since he hit the scene, his secrets have been his and his alone to keep. And that’s where I come in.
Assigned to investigate Saint and reveal his elusive personality, I’m determined to make him the story that will change my career.
But I never imagined he would change my life. Bit by bit, I start to wonder if I'm the one discovering him...or if he's uncovering me.
What happens when the man they call Saint, makes you want to sin?

BLOG TOUR/PROMO & GIVEAWAY: Anomalies by Sadie Turner & Colette Freedman


Title: Anomalies
Author(s): Sadie Turner & Colette Freedman
Publication Date: February 9th 2016
Publisher: Select Books (NY)
Genre: Young Adult, Sci-fi
In the future there is no disease. There is no war. There is no discontent. All citizens are complacent members of the Global Governance. But one summer is about to change everything.
Keeva Tee just turned fifteen. All of her dreams are about to come true. She s about to make the trip to Monarch Camp to be imprinted with her intended life partner. One day they ll have perfect kids and a perfect life. But in her happy, carefree life in the Ocean Community, something weighs on her mind. She hears whispers about anomalies citizens who can t be imprinted. No one knows what happens to them, but they never seem to come back.
When Keeva arrives at Monarch Camp, her worst nightmare becomes a reality she is an anomaly. After imprinting, the people she loves change, and she starts to doubt everything she s ever believed. What if freedom and individuality have been sacrificed for security? And what if the man who solves all the problems is the very man who s created them and what if he isn't a man at all?
When Keeva finds a warning carved under a bunk bed she begins to understand: nonconformity will be punished, dissent is not an option, insurgents will be destroyed.

Friday, April 15, 2016

COVER REVEAL: Taxi by Cambria Hebert

Xpresso Book Tours is hosting the cover reveal created by Mae I Design for Cambria Hebert's newest upcoming novel:

Here is the cover!

Wednesday, April 13, 2016

REVIEW: The Bad Ones by Stylo Fantôme

The Bad Ones

Title: The Bad Ones
Author: Stylo Fantôme
Publication Date: April 12th 2016
Publisher: Battleaxe Productions
Genre: Adult, Romance, Dark, Suspense
Rating: 4.5 Stars
Love isn't always bright and shiny. 
Sometimes, it's dirty and wrong, buried six feet deep in a secret place where only wild things dare to go. Hidden behind a big black curtain that covers things no one should ever see.
Sometimes it happens between two people who should never be allowed to come together. One who is a match, and the other who just happens to be gasoline.
One strike is all it takes to burn the whole world down, and that's exactly what they plan on doing.
Even if it kills them. 
Warning: this book contains graphic sex, extremely brutal violence, foul language, and people repeatedly and knowingly breaking the law. 80,000 word full length novel.

Tuesday, April 12, 2016

BOOK BLITZ & GIVEAWAY: Withering Hope by Layla Hagen

Withering Hope

Title: Withering Hope
Author: Layla Hagen
Publication Date: January 19th 2015
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Aimee’s wedding is supposed to turn out perfect. Her dress, her fiancé and the location—the idyllic holiday ranch in Brazil—are perfect.
But all Aimee’s plans come crashing down when the private jet that’s taking her from the U.S. to the ranch—where her fiancé awaits her—defects mid-flight and the pilot is forced to perform an emergency landing in the heart of the Amazon rainforest.
With no way to reach civilisation, being rescued is Aimee and Tristan’s—the pilot—only hope. A slim one that slowly withers away, desperation taking its place. Because death wanders in the jungle under many forms: starvation, diseases. Beasts.
As Aimee and Tristan fight to find ways to survive, they grow closer. Together they discover that facing old, inner agonies carved by painful pasts takes just as much courage, if not even more, than facing the rainforest.
Despite her devotion to her fiancé, Aimee can’t hide her feelings for Tristan—the man for whom she’s slowly becoming everything. You can hide many things in the rainforest. But not lies. Or love.
Withering Hope is the story of a man who desperately needs forgiveness and the woman who brings him hope. It is a story in which hope births wings and blooms into a love that is as beautiful and intense as it is forbidden.
Note: This novel is recommended for 18+ due to sexual content and mature themes.
| AMAZON | B&N | iBooks | Kobo |

Friday, April 08, 2016

REVIEW: Love Me Never by Sara Wolf

Love Me Never

Title: Love Me Never
Series: Lovely Vicious #1
Author: Sara Wolf
Publication Date: April 5th 2016 (first published November 4th 2013)
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Rating: 5 Stars
Previously published as Lovely Vicious, this fully revised and updated edition is full of romance, intrigue, and laugh-out-loud moments.
Don’t love your enemy. Declare war on him.
Seventeen-year-old Isis Blake hasn’t fallen in love in three years, nine weeks, and five days, and after what happened last time, she intends to keep it that way. Since then she’s lost eighty-five pounds, gotten four streaks of purple in her hair, and moved to Buttcrack-of-Nowhere, Ohio, to help her mom escape a bad relationship.
All the girls in her new school want one thing—Jack Hunter, the Ice Prince of East Summit High. Hot as an Armani ad, smart enough to get into Yale, and colder than the Arctic, Jack Hunter's never gone out with anyone. Sure, people have seen him downtown with beautiful women, but he's never given high school girls the time of day. Until Isis punches him in the face.
Jack’s met his match. Suddenly everything is a game.
The goal: Make the other beg for mercy.
The game board: East Summit High.
The reward: Something neither of them expected.

Thursday, April 07, 2016

BOOK WRITING #1: My Work In Progress & Excerpt

Hello there!

In this post, I am going to be introducing you guys to my current work in progress (one in hundreds that I've started and discarded).

I have been writing for a really long time, and by that I mean for five or so years. I didn't always write, especially when I was younger, because to be honest, I was never any good in English. I wanted to create my own world, my own story, but I was always disappointed with my work because of the fact that half of it never made any sense. 

But hey, nevertheless, I beat my goal of writing 10k words (but buzzed right down to 5k right now, but I'll get to that later) for my newest book, and I am proud to say, I am very happy with myself.

So for the past two or so years, I've been wanting to write this particular book that has been in my head for a really long time, but never had the story and character inspiration to actually write it. So I spent the first of the two years reading many many books, and got inspired by many authors. But then in the second year, I just stopped reading. Completely. I also stopped blogging as well as booktubing, and spent that year watching movies, tv shows, youtubers, all of that fun stuff (I had to go to school as well but yknow). 

So technically, I had this one year hiatus from everything that got to do with books. And I have to say, although I missed a lot of new releases and the fun hype of the book community, I found so much inspiration that year. 

Most of the time I was being lazy and lying in bed, I was dreaming. Day dreaming, night dreaming, whatever you wanted to call it. I dreamt about my characters, my storyline, my plot twists, my everything. And all of the sudden, I just had to get it down on paper. And so I did.

And from there, I now welcome you to the birth of my current work in progress:

Thick Skin

Thick Skin is a new adult contemporary romance telling the story of a girl addicted to drugs, a boy consumed by his anger and their dependency on the fulfilment of lost love.

I started the first draft about two months ago, and wrote 10k words in three nonconsecutive days. I had breaks in between, but 10k words is the most I have ever written for any of my other previous books. I used to have the tendency to write four or so chapters and then give up because I had no more inspiration and was stuck behind a writer's block. But with the first draft of Thick Skin, I broke through.

Now, despite writing those 10k words, I actually scrapped it and rewrote it. Shame right? Haha. 

You know those times when you write and read over it to see if it made any sense and followed any sort of plot line? Well that first draft of 10k words? It didn't make any sense. You can laugh if you want. I was laughing my butt off just reading over it.

But anyway, so I rewrote it all, and currently, I am at 5k+ words. It's half till 10k, so I'm still happy. Plus, the story now has a much better plot line and much better character depth. I switched things up a little bit, made things more heavy, more light, more everything, basically.

And right now, I am in love with my story.

So that's all I'm going to say about my current work in progress. I wanted to share something with you guys because why not? It makes me feel better about my book, and it makes me more confident in my writing knowing that I've shared something very important to me, personally.

I haven't said much about my book except for its main blurb (which is a bit vague, I know). So I am going to link my Pinterest board for Thick Skin here, so you could see some of the photos that link to my book and create inspiration. I pin things on there regularly, so a lot of things might change over time, but here you are:

That's a little snippet of the board :)

But anyway, let's get to the good bit!

Right now, in this post, I am going to give you a little excerpt of my book. You hear? You get to see a little bit of my writing! Yay!!

I can't copy and paste things here because of copyright reasons as well as the fact that it would be way too long for the post, so just click on this link beneath to read the excerpt! Also, please note that this is just an excerpt of a not-yet-finished first draft, meaning it has not been fully edited and proof read so there may be grammatical errors somewhere. But hey, I just wanted to share something with you guys so here it is! 

I hope you enjoy it and let me know your thoughts and feelings because it would be amazing to get feedback. Follow my pinterest board if you'd like to have a feel of what my book may contain and thank you for reading this post and the excerpt itself.

I love you guys!

June Luu

Wednesday, April 06, 2016

Monday, April 04, 2016

REVIEW: Best Laid Plans by Stylo Fantôme

Best Laid Plans

Title: Best Laid Plans
Author: Stylo Fantôme
Series: The Mercenaries #1
Publication Date: September 5th 2015
Publisher: Battleaxe Productions
Genre: Adult, Thriller, Action, Suspense, Romance
Rating: 5 stars
* Smuggle diamonds from Liberia to Morocco
* Make the trip in three days
* Don't get caught
* Don't kill each other
* Don't have sex with each other
* Don't fall for each other
* Stick to the plan
This is the story of what happens when an unlikely bond is formed between enemies, causing tensions to rise, and igniting a chemistry that threatens to burn them both. Together, they'll learn that sometimes even the best laid plans can fail.
If this NOVEL were a MOVIE, it would have an R rating from the MPAA. Contains: Violence, Grisly Images, Strong Language, Nudity, and Graphic Sexual Content.

BOOK BLITZ & GIVEAWAY: The One Who Got Away by Ava Claire

The One Who Got Away

Title: The One Who Got Away (An Alpha Billionaire Romance)
Author: Ava Claire
Publication Date: January 27th 2016
Genre: Adult, Contemporary, Romance
It was supposed to be the best day. I was marrying the love of my life–and nothing would ever be the same.
And then he left me at the altar.
Five years later, I get a job offer I can’t refuse. The trouble is, the boss just so happens to be the one who got away…

Friday, April 01, 2016

COVER REVEAL & GIVEAWAY: Safe With you by Sophie Lira

Xpresso Book Tours is hosting the cover reveal for Sophie Lira's Safe With You.
There is a giveaway at the end so make sure you enter for a chance to win a $5 Amazon GC & an e-book copy of Safe With You!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...