Friday, August 30, 2013

COVER REVEAL: Addicted For Now by Krista & Becca Ritchie

Right guys,
As you know, a few days before, I did a cover reveal for Krista & Becca already. It was their book HOTHOUSE FLOWER which I am completely dying for. You can find the post HERE.
Now, I already fangirled to you guys so much about ADDICTED TO YOU (book 1 in the Addicted series). I mean, how could you not get addicted in this book? I completely LOVED it. I love Lily. I love Loren, and ever since I finished that book, I have been bothering (bothering as in absolutely FANGIRLING through email and twitter) Krista & Becca for more.

Now, the moment is finally here to reveal book 2 in the Addicted series, ADDICTED FOR NOW.
Seriously, before you scroll down, you should read this warning first. 
YOU ARE GOING TO SWOON
Yes, that is the warning. Well, it's not really a warning, it's more like a demand.
But whatever! I'm rambling through such hotness, leave me be in my happy mood.
__
__
__
__
__
__
__
__
__
__
__

Addicted For Now by Krista & Becca Ritchie



Title: Addicted For Now
Author(s): Krista & Becca Ritchie
Series: Addicted
Publication Date: November 2013
(No summary yet. Coming soon)


Isn't it just....YUMMY? Krista told me that is actually Loren. 
So now that I have seen a piece of Loren....excuse me while I stare at this picture like a freak and never look away.
OH MY GOD! It is total HOTNESS! Look at that! This is epicness! 
Now Krista & Becca is totally TORTURING me since I have to wait for the book after seeing THIS!
How am I supposed to sleep now? Every night, I'm going to be awake and just see this cover and then I'm never going to be sleeping again. 
WHY? WHY DID I VOLUNTEER TO SHARE THE COVER AND IT ENDED UP TORTURING MY ME INSTEAD OF MAKING ME BETTER?
WHY!??
I seriously am DYING for this book.

Ramblings. End

About The Author


Becca Ritchie is a carnivore of pop culture, television, film and of course YA and NA books. While in college, she worked at The CW television network and put her vampiric knowledge to good use, blogging about hit series and swooning over actors’ abs. When she’s not blogging, she writes novels and has teamed up with her twin sister for their New Adult novel ADDICTED TO YOU. Available July of 2013.
Krista Ritchie is the mind behind popular trading website YA Book Exchange and created Nawanda Files, a book blog that also features books into movies news. When not pouring over entertainment news and the newest releases, she spends her time conducting research in a genetics lab. She’s happy to join forces with her sister, harnessing their twin powers to produce the first in a New Adult series.

Tuesday, August 27, 2013

COVER REVEAL: Hothouse Flower by Krista & Becca Ritchie


First, before I reveal the cover, I just wanted to say sorry for my lateness.
The cover was actually supposed to be scheduled on August 26th, but since I'm on vaca and the time difference is major, I forgot the schedule the post at the correct time.
So that is it, now on the the book HOTHOUSE FLOWER.

Seriously, I cannot wait to read this book. If you guys haven't read ADDICTED TO YOU (the first in the Addicted series), you NEED to read it. It is A-to the-MAZING.
If some of you have read the book, you would have met Ryke (ahhh swoon. Yes, he is hot, but I belong to Loren. HAHAHA!).
Hothouse Flower is all about Ryke and Lily's sister, Daisy. OH EM GEE! I CAN'T WAIT FOR THIS!
THE WAIT IS KILLING ME!
And here we are, revealing the cover!!
So...here we go:
__
__
__
__
__
__
__
__
__

Hothouse Flower by Krista & Becca Ritchie



Title: Hothouse Flower
Authors: Krista & Becca Ritchie
Publication Date: February 2014
Summary from Goodreads:

Ryke Meadows, meet Daisy Calloway ... she’s all grown up.

Twenty-five-year-old Ryke Meadows knows he’s hard to love. With a billion-dollar inheritance, a track-star resume, and an alpha-male personality—he redefines the term likable asshole. But he’s not living to make friends. Or enemies. After months helping his brother through rehab and sobriety, he just wants to free climb three of the toughest mountains in Yosemite without drama or interruption.

And then he receives a distressed call from a girl in Paris—a girl that he has never been allowed to have.

Daisy Calloway is eighteen. Finally. With her newfound independence, she can say goodbye to her overbearing mother and continue her modeling career. Next stop, Paris. Fashion week begins with a bang, and Daisy uncovers the ugly reality of the industry. She wants to prove to her family that she can live on her own, but when everything spirals out of control, she turns to Ryke to keep her secrets.

As Daisy struggles to make sense of this new world and her freedom, she pushes the limits and fearlessly rides the edge. Ryke knows there’s deep hurt beneath every impulsive action. He must keep up with Daisy, and if he lets her go, her favorite motto—“live as if you’ll die today”—may just come true.


About The Author


Becca Ritchie is a carnivore of pop culture, television, film and of course YA and NA books. While in college, she worked at The CW television network and put her vampiric knowledge to good use, blogging about hit series and swooning over actors’ abs. When she’s not blogging, she writes novels and has teamed up with her twin sister for their New Adult novel ADDICTED TO YOU. Available July of 2013.
Krista Ritchie is the mind behind popular trading website YA Book Exchange and created Nawanda Files, a book blog that also features books into movies news. When not pouring over entertainment news and the newest releases, she spends her time conducting research in a genetics lab. She’s happy to join forces with her sister, harnessing their twin powers to produce the first in a New Adult series.


Thursday, August 22, 2013

Feature & Follow #1

Feature & Follow Friday


Feature & Follow Friday is a weekly meme hosted by Parajunkee over at Parajunkee's View and Alison over at Alison Can Read. The Feature & Follow blog hop is a great way for blogger to get more followers, gain new friends, and join in on the chat about books and much more!

This is my first F&F. I only started because Amelia (my absolute best BEST blogger friend ever) from Musings Of A Blogder told me it was 1) fun 2) you can gain more followers 3) meet new people 4) chat about books, blogs and other stuff. So here I am, creating my first post for F&F. I hope I get to meet more book bloggers as weird about books as I am. LOL! So here goes.

This week's question/activity:


Normally (as far as I know), every week there is a new question. But this week is an activity. You have to take a picture of you and your current read(s). So here goes:

I'm currently reading A PERFECT MESS by Zoe Dawson! I love the cover and bad boys are all for me! LOL! The plot sounds really interesting and couldn't wait for it. I received it as an ARC from the author and here I am, reading it and totally loving it so far!

Ahhh! I look pretty weird in this picture with the ipad in my hand, but oh well...everybody have to face some embarrassment in their lives, right? You can't exactly see the cover of the book in this picture since it was too bright, so I will post the book information below so you can go check it out! LOL! Here I am:




A Perfect Mess by Zoe Dawson


Title: A Perfect Mess
Author: Zoe Dawson
Series: A Perfect Secret #1
Publication Date: August 5th 2013
Publisher: Blue Moon Creative

I know what you did last summer.
Aubree Walker, the perfect girl most likely to succeed, is sure there’s only one person who knows what she did.
Booker Outlaw, one of the three Outlaw brothers—all identical, all gorgeous, all from the wrong side of the tracks, and all pure bad boys. He was always the unpredictable one, the one who would be brash enough to make it big self-publishing horror novels on the internet. He promised never to tell, but everyone knows you can never trust an Outlaw.
Then a year later, in the middle of the night, she receives a phone call at Tulane. Her aunt, who took her in after her mother’s death, is in a coma under suspicious circumstances. Now she has to face that one person who knows all about what she did that summer—sexy Booker.
Returning to Hope Parish to be with her aunt, stirs up all those ugly memories. When Aubree starts getting threats, she can’t help but wonder if what she did last summer was tied to her aunt’s “accident.” Afraid, she turns to the only person who knows the truth and Booker doesn’t hesitate to offer his broad shoulder for her to lean on. But Booker has a secret of his own that could crush their fledgling relationship.
As the hot, sultry summer days move on, she finds that even a perfectly smart girl can lose her heart to a perfectly bad boy. What is she going to do when someone starts asking questions Aubree doesn’t want to answer? She’s knee deep into a terribly dangerous, wholly life changing, who-can-she-really-depend-on perfect mess.
| Goodreads

What's your F&F? Comment below and I'll go check it out!



Wednesday, August 21, 2013

REVIEW: Saving Wishes by G.J. Walker-Smith

Saving Wishes by G.J. Walker-Smith


Title: Saving Wishes
Author: G.J. Walker-Smith
Series: The Wishes Series #1
Publication Date: February 12th 2013

For Charli Blake, being seventeen is a tough gig.
She's been branded a troublemaker, her reputation is in tatters and she's stuck in Pipers Cove, a speck of a town on the coast of Tasmania.
Thankfully, it's temporary. Her lifelong dream of travelling the world is just months away from becoming reality. All she has to do is ride out the last few months of high school, which is easier said than done thanks to a trio of mean girls known as The Beautifuls.
When Adam D├ęcarie arrives in town, all the way from New York, life takes an unexpected turn. His arrival sets off a chain of events that alters her life forever, convincing her of one thing. Fate brought him to her.
Saving Wishes is the story of a girl who doesn't quite fit the life she's living, and the boy who helps her realise why.
| Goodreads
* Thanks to Netgalley for providing me a copy for review*

My Review


SAVING WISHES tells the story of a seventeen-year-old girl, Charli, short for Charlotte. I have to say, this was a great story. The characters were all amazing and the story plot is so interesting. I kind of died after the ending. I mean, how can you end a book like that?! 

Charli was witty, HILARIOUS, and she has this vibe around her that I can't describe but totally love! I love how she has this unique personality, I just love that about characters. Her relationship between her brother, Alex (oooooh a huge twist that will wrench your guts. READ IT!), is just so admiring. I love how they understand each other and push each other buttons. It felt so real that I really wished I had an older brother like that.

Adam was just as hilarious as Charli. He's super rich over in New York, and he has a car that everyone drools over. He's isn't a bad boy, he's charming, kind, funny, witty and he sees the best in Charli. He knows Charli, and he understands her. That's what I love about him. He knows all the wrong in Charli, but he understands, and he sticks by her side (I seriously want him to be my boyfriend. Shh! No one should know!).

I really enjoyed reading Saving Wishes, the book dealt with school, bullying, relationships, dreams, and lastly--love. It was so enjoyable, laughable, dramatic in some parts that I just want to join the characters in the book. I love Charli, Adam, Alex and other characters that took a great part in this book. I can't wait for the next one!!


About The Author


My day job used to be in the stressful world of property management, until I realised I’d rather write books and raise my babies.
I live in Western Australia, have an egotistical Fren
ch bulldog, a love for really good coffee and a million stories in my head that I hope to get into print.
Thanks for taking the time to read about me, and I hope you enjoy my books.
https://www.facebook.com/gjwalkersmith



Monday, August 19, 2013

ARC REVIEW: Ricochet by Krista & Becca Ritchie

Ricochet by Krista & Becca Ritchie


Title: Ricochet
Authors: Krista & Becca Ritchie
Series: Addicted  #1.5
Publication Date: August 1st 2013
Source: ARC Ebook

As a sex addict, Lily Calloway must do the impossible. Stay celibate for 90 days.
Cravings and fantasies become her new routine, but while Loren Hale recovers from his alcohol addiction, Lily wonders if he’ll realize what a monster she really is. After all, her sexual compulsions begin to rule her life the longer she stays faithful to him.
Progress. That’s what Lily’s striving for. But by trying to become closer to her family—people who aren’t aware of her addiction—she creates larger obstacles. When she spends time with her youngest sister, she learns more about her than she ever imagined and senses an unsettling connection between Daisy and Ryke Meadows.
With Lily and Lo’s dysfunctional relationship teetering and unbalanced, they will need to find a way to reconnect from miles apart. But the inability to “touch” proves to be one of the hardest tests on their road to recovery. Some love brushes the surface. Some love is deeper than skin.
Lily and Lo have three months to discover just how deep their love really goes.

My Review


I received this as an ARC from the author in exchange for a review. Thank you so much, Becca!

First of all, before I go on about the book, I have to say there is a good reason on why the series is called Addicted. It is because it is ADDICTIVE. I could NOT stop reading AT ALL! I read this all in one sitting. In fact, I only just received this copy today and have already finished it within 2 hours. OH MY GOD IT IS SO ADDICTIVE!

Now onto the book. RICOCHET continues on from where it ended in ADDICTED TO YOU. Loren 'Lo' went to rehab to deal with his alcohol addiction while Lily deals with her sex addiction at home with her sisters and Ryke. Lo is in rehab for 3 months, and in that 3 months, they are not allowed to see each other. 

Lily...I love Lily. I mean, I love her personality, the way she cares so much for Lo and her love towards her family. Even with her addiction, she worries about other people's problems. She might not be the brave and know-how-to-fight sort of girls I was accustomed to, but she is strong. She stays strong even though she wants to fill her needs so bad. She stays strong for her sisters, and she stays strong for Lo, the person she loves the most.

Loren is an asshole, as always (and like his half-brother, but I'll get to that later). We don't get to see him much in Ricochet because the book is in Lily's POV (I would love to read Lo's POV!) and he's in rehab. But from the phone conversation he has with Lily, he is just like normal. Lo's figuring out how to deal with his addiction, and he's coping really well. And exactly like Lily, he worries about other people's problems too. Well, when I say 'other people', I mean Lily. And of course he worries about her, because he loves her. I love how Lily and Lo has this sort of relationship when they say the same thing and how they realise when something is wrong. I just love that!

And Ryke! I seriously SERIOUSLY LOVE RYKE! I cannot tell you how much I love him. Exactly like Lo, he is also an ass. But he's the sort of ass that cares about the ones close to him. He loves Lo (since they are half-brothers) and cares for him. He wants to help Lo become better, and by doing that, he protects Lily. I love his relationship with Lily's sister, Daisy. I mean, I found it hilarious with all of the fake sarcasm that goes on between him and Daisy. Luckily, Krista and Becca is writing a book about Ryke and Daisy. It's called HOTHOUSE FLOWER! OMG!! I NEED THIS!

Overall, Ricochet was just as addicting as Addicted To You. I love how this book was about the test between Lily and Lo, how they could cope with their addictions without each other. If it was me, I probably would've failed the test, LOL. I seriously cannot wait for ADDICTED FOR NOW (book 2). ARGH! I NEED IT! I'M ADDICTED TO THE SERIES!!

~ June

About The Author

Becca Ritchie is a carnivore of pop culture, television, film and of course YA and NA books. While in college, she worked at The CW television network affiliate in Atlanta and put her vampiric knowledge to good use, blogging about hit series and swooning over actors’ abs. When she’s not blogging, she writes novels and has teamed up with her twin sister. Their New Adult novel ADDICTED TO YOU comes out July of 2013. 

Talk to Becca via Twitter @Becca_Ritchie and visit Becca and Krista’s YA Book Blog Nawanda Files. To learn more about ADDICTED TO YOU mosey on over to http://www.kbritchie.com

Saturday, August 17, 2013

ARC REVIEW: Selling Scarlett by Ella James

Selling Scarlett by Ella James


Title: Selling Scarlett
Author: Ella James
Series: Love Inc #1
Publication Date: April 14th 2013
Source: ARC ebook

Elizabeth DeVille doesn't belong at a party like this—one where the gowns cost more than her Camry and cigars run higher than her grad school utility bills. Dragged out of seclusion by her best friend Suri, Elizabeth is merely playing dress-up, rubbing elbows with a crowd that banished her troubled family years ago.
Hunter West is tired. Tired of parties, tired of pretending, and tired of trying to right a wrong that haunts him every day. Bourbon heir and professional poker player by day, by night Hunter is gambling with his life in a high-stakes game of crime and blackmail.
When Elizabeth stumbles into Hunter's den of vices, she's a light in the darkness, a flame in the void. And, just like everything he touches, Hunter mars her in a record time. To rectify the damage done, Elizabeth needs money she doesn't have, and she's come up with a foolproof way to get it.
Follow Elizabeth—code-named Scarlett—to the lush Nevada brothel where she'll auction her virginity and risk the only thing that's not for sale: her heart. The highest bidder is a familiar face, with wicked hands and the devil's mouth. And a secret so dark that it could cost her life.

My Review


I received this book as an ARC requested by Ella James and her publicist. I will try and not give any spoilers!

WOW! Just...WOW! 

I can't believe I'm still hungover this book for so long. When Ella's publicist contacted me to ask for a review, I was immediately like "YES YES YES!" And I'm telling you now, the book did not disappoint. At all.

SELLING SCARLETT started slow and in some parts, I kinda got confused about who Scarlett really is. But then as the story continues, it was so addicting and I could not stop AT ALL! To those who doesn't know, or hasn't read the plot, Scarlett is actually a code name for Elizabeth DeVille. Elizabeth isn't rich, but she has enough money to live on. Elizabeth is strong, she stands up for her friends and protects them. She is everything I want to be and everything I want as a friend. In the blurb, you obviously get a few things--Elizabeth needs money, so she's selling her virginity. Now Elizabeth might sound like a slut, she isn't. And this whole story isn't only about her body for sale either. It's about a lot more. 

I really love all of the characters (maybe not Priscilla Heat. You will understand when you read it), especially Elizabeth. She might be selling her virginity for money, but she's doing it for her friend. Friendship took a major part in this book. How Elizabeth (Libby for short, well, that's what Hunter calls her anyway) is risking her body for her friend, Cross, who is lying in a crap hospital that's making him worst than better. 

Hunter West is not what he appears. Yes, he is a man-whore, but he has his own problems. Like how all of the evidence of Sarabelle's (a girl that he spent last with before she disappeared) murder seems to point to him. With him being the man-whore, of course he would go to an auction where they're selling girls as prostitutes. So you guess what happens next, Hunter meets Elizabeth (or Scarlett), and let me give you a tiny sneak peek...the near-sex is HOT!!

But I'm telling you now (again), this book was not only about selling Elizabeth's virginity, it was about a murder mystery, friendship between Elizabeth, Suri (Libby's best friend) and Cross (oh Cross!), and of course--romance. It was SEXY! And one THOUSAND percent addictive! I could not stop after I started reading! And the near-ending will leave you jumping out of your seat trying to rush through but not miss out any detail and see what was going to happen! 

I seriously can't wait for TAMING CROSS (originally titled CHASING CROSS)!! AHHHH!!!

~ June

About The Author


Ella James is the author of Stained and Stolen, books one and two in the Stained Series; HERE, book one in a sci-fi romance trilogy; and Before You Go, a romance YA beach read that tells the first meeting of Logan and Margo, who will be featured in her upcoming adult release, Over The Moon. She has a YA paranormal romance release scheduled for every month of 2012, including Chosen (Stained Book Three) in June and the second HERE book in July.
Ella is inviting readers to help her write a shapeshifter romance, which is plotted via polls and questions on her blog and her Facebook page.
Ella lives in Birmingham, Alabama, with her wonderful husband, opinionated baby, and mopey dog. You can visit her blog at www.ellajamesbooks.blogspot.com, or friend her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/ellajamesbooks



Wednesday, August 14, 2013

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY: Until It Hurts To Stop by Jennifer R. Hubbard


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill over at Breaking The Spine
This week's pick is:

Until It Hurts To Stop by Jennifer R. Hubbard


Title: Until It Hurts To Stop
Author: Jennifer R. Hubbard
Publication Date: September 12th 2013
Publisher: Viking Juvenile
Pages: 256 pages


When you can’t trust anyone, how can you ever feel safe?
In seventh grade, Maggie Camden was the class outcast. Every day, the other girls tripped her, pinched her, trapped her in the bathroom, told her she would be better off dead. Four years have passed since then, and Maggie’s tormentors seem to have moved on. The ringleader of them all, Raleigh Barringer, even moved out of town. But Maggie has never stopped watching for attacks, and every laugh still sounds like it’s at her expense. The only time Maggie feels at peace is when she’s hiking up in the mountains with her best friend, Nick. Lately, though, there’s a new sort of tension between the two of them—a tension both dangerous and delicious. But how can Maggie expect anything more out of Nick when all she’s ever been told is that she’s ugly, she’s pathetic, she’s unworthy of love? And how can she ever feel safe, now that Raleigh Barringer is suddenly—terrifyingly—back in town?

What I think of the book


This book looks so interesting, and I love reading books that are based around real life problems.
And also, I LOVE the cover! It's just so original!
What's your WAITING ON WEDNESDAY?
Comment below and link me so I can check it out!



Tuesday, August 13, 2013

ARC REVIEW: Dark Wings by Skyla Madi

Dark Wings by Skyla Madi


Title: Dark Wings
Author: Skyla Madi
Series: The Never Dark #1
Publication Date: July 13th 2013

“I don’t want to kill you, not anymore.” He said, coming to face me. “I want to be with you. I want to hold you and touch you and—” He exhaled. “I. Want. You.”
Violet Ashton is an exemplary angel with ninety-nine kills under her belt. Nothing could make her underestimate herself until she's sent to hunt down Death, one of the Four Horseman of the Apocalypse. Or as Violet knows him--Lucas Cross, her ex-mentor and ex-lover.
Defining the line between what her job requires and what her heart wants is the hardest decision she's ever had to make.
Lucas Cross is an angel turned demon. The only thing he had to worry about was helping his brothers end the world, that was until Violet blew into town. From the moment he saw her again his normal self has fought hard to keep down the demon that desperately wants to kill her. Torn between love and hate, Lucas is determined to push all of Violet's limits.
The feud between the Never Dark realm and The Underworld is at boiling point and if Violet can't complete her mission Earth will pay the ultimate price.

My Review


First, before I start this review, I just want to apologize to Skyla Madi (the author) for the massive wait ever since she sent me the ARC in June. I couldn't find the time since it was nearly the end of school and I had to pack for holiday and all of that. I tried to push it up the ARC TBR list but seriously, everything was just too busy. So I just wanted to apologize :)

Now, onto the book. DARK WINGS was such a page turner, seriously! I only just started it a hour ago and completely DEVOURED it!! I couldn't stop, like at all. I didn't stop, not even once. I just couldn't pull my eyes off the computer (I think I might need glasses after this..lol). I was always a sucker for Heaven and Hell, angels and demons stuff so Dark Wings did not disappoint at all.

Violet Ashton is an angel, not the sort of guardian angel who gets assigned to protect people, she's the sort of angel who kills demons. So in shorter words, she's a kick-ass angel who knows how to kick a guy in the balls. LOL!! I love Violet's character! She's strong, brave, much like those girls who I am accustomed to. There were points when she was vulnerable and weak, and even though she's an angel, she's allowed to be those things. 

DEATH!! In other words, Lucas-aka-death-aka-hotness-overload-in-suits!! Seriously! Yes, he is the bad guy, but who cares?! Good girls fall for the bad guy! It's life! Anyway, Lucas is such a charming asshole (excuse my language), but I fell for him anyway. Like Violet, he also has vulnerable moments, especially when his bad side takes over. Lucas used to be an angel, but then he changed, or fallen, is a better word. But the thing I really love though, was that he might be bad, but he's still fighting for Violet. He also has a good side that I can't help but fall in love with.

Other than the awesome characters, this book was packed with action an thriller. There were scenes where I just want to jump in on the action and be like "Yeah! Girls KICK ASS!", but then I'll get my own ass kicked. LOL!! Skyla did not disappoint me AT ALL! I seriously cannot wait for book 2, TORN WINGS!! The title even had me excited!!

~ June

About The Author


Skyla Madi was born in the small town of Port Maquarie, New South Wales in 1993. She spent half her life growing up in Wauchope, a thriving rural town at the heart of the Hastings River Valley before making the leap to the busy city of Brisbane.
Whenever this young Australian writer isn't changing diapers, watching cartoons, cooking for her husband or doing other motherly-wife things she is actively working on her writing and improving her writing skills.
Skyla loves to read just as much as she loves to write and since discovering that YA/NA/paranormal romance/urban fantasy/ are her favourite genres, she has embarked on her own writing journey and is currently contracted with Limitless Publishing.

REVIEW: The Edge Of Never by J.A. Redmerski

The Edge Of Never by J.A. Redmerski


Title: The Edge Of Never
Series: The Edge Of Never #1
Author: J.A. Redmerski
Publication Date: November 15th 2012 
Publisher: Createspace

Sometimes life takes you off course . . .
THE EDGE OF NEVER
Twenty-year-old Camryn Bennett thought she knew exactly where her life was going. But after a wild night at the hottest club in downtown Raleigh, North Carolina, she shocks everyone-including herself-when she decides to leave the only life she's ever known and set out on her own. Grabbing her purse and her cell phone, Camryn boards a Greyhound bus ready to find herself. Instead, she finds Andrew Parrish.
Sexy and exciting, Andrew lives life like there is no tomorrow. He persuades Camryn to do things she never thought she would and shows her how to give in to her deepest, most forbidden desires. Soon he becomes the center of her daring new life, pulling love and lust and emotion out of her in ways she never imagined possible. But there is more to Andrew than Camryn realizes. Will his secret push them inseparably together-or destroy them forever?
| Goodreads

My Review


HOW COULD YOU DO THAT TO ME, J.A. REDMERSKI???! I nearly had a freaking heart-attack!! Oh my god, I nearly died! Seriously, J.A Redmerski completely and utterly surprised me with her amazing writing and oh my god I nearly got a heart attack just reading this book.

THE EDGE OF NEVER tells the story of Camryn Bennett heading towards the road of nowhere. On that road, she meets Andrew Parrish (who is so hot, excuse me but I'm gushing OOOHH). Camryn is funny, care-free, she's always happy and she lights up everybody else's mood. She's the type of girl that I fall in love with really easily from the start to the end. With everything that happened in her life, I understood her straight away and knew the reason why she had to get away for a little while. It was actually admiring how she can cope with all of her problems for so long.

Andrew, Andrew, Andrew....What can I say about Andrew? Andrew is HILARIOUS, I mean, there are times when it isn't funny at all, but somehow, his company just light me up and make me all happy and giddy. And his TATS!!! OH EM GEE HIS TATTOOS!! I love them! I mean, the meanings for his tattoos are so admirable. It's just so amazing! I love Andrew, I mean, I love how he taught Camryn to live a little, do something that was highly embarrassing even though I'm not the one doing it. It was so weird and sweet at the same time.

Like I said, J.A. Redmerski nearly gave me a major heart-attack near the end of this book, I mean, I nearly DIED for goodness sake. And I have to admit, I did cry a little. I mean, how can you not cry after reading that?

From this book, I have fallen in love with J.A. Redmerski. Now that I have finally read this book, I need to go read her upcoming ones like KILLING SARAI. I seriously can't wait!!

~ June

About The Author


J.A. Redmerski, New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling author of THE EDGE OF NEVER lives in North Little Rock, Arkansas with her three children and a Maltese. She is a lover of television and books that push boundaries and is a huge fan of AMC's The Walking Dead.

Sunday, August 11, 2013

REVIEW: Bully by Penelope Douglas

Bully by Penelope Douglas


Title: Bully
Author: Penelope Douglas
Series: Fall Away #1
Publication Date: June 17th 2013

My name is Tate. He doesn't call me that, though. He would never refer to me so informally, if he referred to me at all.
We're neighbors, and once, we were best friends. But then, one summer, he turned on me and has made it his mission to screw up my life at every opportunity. I've been humiliated, shut out, and gossiped about all through high school. His pranks and rumors got more sadistic as time wore on, and I made myself sick trying to hide from him. I worried about what was around every corner and behind every door.
So I left.
I spent a year studying abroad and bathed in the freedom of life without Jared. Now I'm back to finish up high school and get the hell out of here forever. I'm hoping that after a year of breathing room, he's moved on and forgotten all about me.
But even if he hasn't changed, I have. I'm not interested in avoiding him or turning the other cheek anymore. We're going to go head to head, because neither of us wants to back down.

My Review


...
...
...
...

MY BEAUTY SLEEP IS OVER!! 

I cannot get my mind out of this book!! It has been ages since I'd had a book hangover and I'm telling you now, it feels soooo good!! 

Damn me for not starting this book earlier. I had it on my kindle for a long time but never had the chance to start reading because I just couldn't wrap my mind around it. But then, after all of the amazing reviews and comments about it, I thought "why not? It doesn't bite". Well, let's just say I was wrong. It does bite. And it sure hurts like hell (in a good way).

So BULLY tells the story of Tatum Brandt (looove the name). She's a bit weak at first, scared and small, which I wasn't used to. I'm more used to strong and brave girls who can stand up for themselves. But then, as I read on, I realise that I love this character of Tate. She might have been a bit weak at first, but then she gradually grew to be braver and stronger. Her character changes a lot and I could never get tired of reading her thoughts and emotions.  

And then there was Jared. He's a bastard. One word. B-A-S-T-A-R-D. Seriously, I mean, he bullies Tate, and he turns the whole school against her. Well, like Tate, his character changes as well. Yes, I just made it clear that I just called him a bastard, but somehow, I still fell in love with him. That was because, as I kept reading (not like I could stop, at all), I realise that he's doing this with a reason. Every single action that he does has a reason, even if you think it's a bad one, it's still a 'reason'. As I read more and more about him, I realise that he was exactly like Tate. He might've seemed like a bully, but in his head, he never realised it until it was too late. 

This book wasn't just only about love or friendship. Yes, it was the main topic, but it was also about stopping yourself before you go too far. Jared, he was a bully at first, but he didn't realise it. Tate, at first she was scared and small, but then as her character changes, there were a few times where she was starting to act like she was the bully instead. But I love reading about all of these problems. Tate had to stop herself a few times just to realise that she was acting way too far, and somehow it just stirs up the whole story, making it more juicier. LOL!

AND THE CARS!! OMG THE CARS!! The racing!! THAT WAS HOT!! I mean, I might not love cars like boys do, but I still find them so exciting that I just want to jump around (or maybe that's because I love Fast & Furious...hhmm...). But letting your girlfriends drive??? BRING IT ON!! (LOL, I'm not going to reveal anything else...too much infomation. You need to read it yourself)

Overall, I fell deeply in love with everybody in this book. I'm still hungover that I DON'T want to start a new book. And that is shocking to a bookaholic like me (and you). OMG! I need the next book to this amazing series!! Like, NOW!! This book is definitely going on my 'Book Hungover' list. Wait, I need to go make one...

~ June

About The Author


Penelope Douglas is a writer and teacher in Las Vegas. Born in Dubuque, Iowa, she is the oldest of five children. Penelope attended the University of Northern Iowa, earning a Bachelor's degree in Public Administration, because her father told her to "just get the damn degree!" She then earned a Masters of Science in Education at Loyola University in New Orleans, because she HATED public administration. One night, she got tipsy and told the bouncer at the bar where she worked (yes, she was drunk at work)that his son was hot, and three years later she was married. To the son, not the bouncer. They have spawn, but just one. A daughter named Aydan. Penelope loves sweets, the show Sons of Anarchy, and she shops at Target almost daily.
Bully (Fall Away #1) is my first book, published June 3013. Please look for the companion novel, Until You, in late fall 2013 and Rival in the summer of 2014.

Wednesday, August 07, 2013

ARC REVIEW: Steel Lily by Megan Curd

Steel Lily by Megan Curd


Title: Steel Lily
Series: Periodic Series #1
Author: Megan Curd
Publication Date: August 20th 2013

AVERY PIKE is a commodity. No, more than a commodity. Her existence is guarded at all costs.
She’s a water Elementalist, the strongest of her dwindling kind. She creates steam to provide energy to fuel Dome Four: the only thing standing between humanity and an earth ravaged by World War III. No steam, no Dome. No Dome, no life.
Or so she thinks.
That is, until a mysterious man offers her a way out of having to donate steam. A way to escape the corrupt government of Dome Four. While the offer seems too good to be true, Avery is intrigued.
But when she arrives to her new home, she realizes the grass isn’t any less dead on this side of the fence. Instead, the lies are just hidden better.
…Which means digging deeper.
When Avery enlists the help of her friends to uncover the truth, she learns that while some secrets are better left concealed, humankind was never meant to live in a cage. And when you can control the most sought after resource, you can learn to control anything…including the fate of your world.
| Goodreads

My Review


5 absolutely AMAZING stars.

I received this book as an ARC from the author, and after hearing so many great reviews about this book, I couldn't wait to get started. I had to stop a few times since I'm busy on holiday, but I managed to devour this book in less than 2 days.

STEEL LILY has a mixture of romance, humour, thriller, mystery and action. Avery Pike is an orphan, she has the ability to create steam. She's the most powerful elementalist out there. I thought Avery was strong, witty, a bit annoying sometimes, brave and HILARIOUS! I laughed out loud so many times while reading this book, oh my, all of the sarcasm.

And then there was Jaxon. I mean, he wasn't my type of 'bad boy', but he was amazingly funny! I mean, he can never speak one sentence without at least one sarcastic word in it. It was hilarious!! I had to stop a few times just to get my laughter in control.

This book took a huge twist, I mean, ABSOLUTELY HUGE twist. I was so surprised I had to stop for a bit. How could you have guessed that Riggs was.....No, I'm not going to reveal anything away, you'll just have to read it yourself! Hehe!

Oh, and the action!! I couldn't help sometimes but imagine myself being in there sneaking around and fighting along with Avery. I mean, the book was so well described that I was basically living in it. Megan did an amazing job creating this world of World War III, not only did she make it action-packed, she mixed it up with a little bit of zombie-ish people too, those people that were contaminated and all of that. Which I absolutely LOVED!!

Oh WOW! I seriously can't wait for book 2. I mean, after THIS, how can you NOT be dying for the next book!!??? You have to go and buy this book when it comes out! I mean, you HAVE to! (Or else I'll let Avery turn you into steam, muwhaha)

~ June

About The Author


"Like" Megan Curd on Facebook: http://on.fb.me/kGCsmI
Follow on Twitter: @MeganCurd
Megan Curd is a graduate of Northwestern College in St. Paul, Minnesota. While having always enjoyed reading any books she could get her hands on, Megan didn’t begin writing until a friend encouraged her to do so while in college.
When not writing, Megan enjoys spending time with her family and friends. Traveling and snowboarding are hobbies she loves, and doesn’t turn down the opportunity to play xBox with her brother and friends when it presents itself.
Megan currently resides in Stanton, Kentucky with her husband, son, and Great Dane named Dozer.

Thursday, August 01, 2013

REVIEW: Falling Into You by Jasinda Wilder

Falling Into You by Jasinda Wilder


Title: Falling Into You
Series: Falling #1
Author: Jasinda Wilder
Publication Date: March 14th 2013

I wasn't always in love with Colton Calloway; I was in love with his younger brother, Kyle, first. Kyle was my first one true love, my first in every way.
Then, one stormy August night, he died, and the person I was died with him.
Colton didn't teach me how to live. He didn't heal the pain. He didn't make it okay. He taught me how to hurt, how to not be okay, and, eventually, how to let go.

| Goodreads

My Review


This book blew me away. Completely. I don't even know how to describe it. At first, I thought this was some sort of summer fling that I would read, review and forget about it. But this book is going to stick with me for a LONG time. I'm serious.

Falling Into You tells the story of two people who are hurting, the connection they have that makes them untouchable. Nell fell in love with Kyle Calloway, but when tragedy strikes and Kyle was ripped from her, a part of her died. I thought that Nell was strong and brave, dealing with that heavy load of guilt and sadness all by herself. There were parts when I'm practically screaming "WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT TO YOURSELF?!", but then I understand why. She needs help, but she's not ready to open up. Until Colton Calloway.

Colton is Kyle's brother. And I know what you're thinking, that it's so wrong to fall in love with a dead person's brother. It might be weird, but it's life. Live with it. That's what Colton taught Nell (or Nelly, Colton calls her that, it's cute). He taught her to feel the pain emotionally, no matter how much it hurts, instead of physically. He taught her to live it, fight it, and lastly, let it go.

Colton is hot. No one can say no to that. I mean, TATTOOS????? HELL YES!! I fell more in love with him as I read on. He's kind, understanding, not only does he teaches Nell how to deal with the pain, he's teaching himself as well. Colton has secrets he's learning to share, he's learning to trust, to love. Just like Nelly.

Like I said before, this book totally blew me away. Between the secrets and pain, the emotions connecting Nelly and Colton together was just so strong that I could even feel it. Jasinda made me feel everything in this book. I loved the playlist and the songs. I mean...it's basically my type of music!! 

I can't wait to read the second book FALLING INTO US. I can't wait for Jason and Becca!!

About The Author


Jasinda Wilder is a Michigan native with a penchant for titillating tales about sexy men and strong women. When she's not writing, she's probably shopping, baking, or reading.
www.jasindawilder.com
Email Jasinda at JasindaWilder@gmail.com


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...