Thursday, July 25, 2013

ARC REVIEW: Manic (Rook & Ronin #2) by J.A. Huss

Manic by J.A. Huss

Title: Manic
Series: Rook & Ronin #2
Author: J.A. Huss
Publication Date: August 1st 2013
Publisher: Science Future Press

TRAGIC is over and Rook is ready for the future—Spencer Shrike and the STURGIS contract!
It’s three months of body art modeling! That means three months of Spencer Shrike’s paintbrush all over her body, three months in front of Antoine’s camera, and three months of twenty-four hour filming for Spencer’s Biker Channel reality show.
Wait a minute…what reality show? Maybe she should’ve read that STURGIS contract a little closer? ;)
Sure, Rook’s bank account is almost overflowing, but Ronin is angry, Clare is trying to escape rehab, Antoine is a worried mess, and Elise is just trying to hold everyone together. Her new family is about to fall apart before she even gets the chance to enjoy them.
Add in a mysterious man from her past, a road trip to the famous Sturgis Motorcycle Rally, and a final show in front of the entire world where all her good are on display, and you’ve got Manic—a new adult contemporary romance that will definitely make your summer sizzle!
You can buy this on Amazon when it comes out August 1st

My Review

What did I think of this book? WHAT DID I THINK OF THIS BOOK!? Oh, I don't know, I thought that this book BLEW MY HEAD OFF!! I mean, if I could give it GAZILLION stars, I would totally. I have said this, and I will say it again. Julie can NEVER EVER fail to amaze me with her writing. From her debut book, Clutch, to this!! You know that saying when you fall head-over-heels in love with somebody? Well, I have officially fallen head-over-heels for Julie. I will try not to give any

Finally, onto the book. Now that the TRAGIC contract has finished, Rook has signed for STURGIS (the contract that cool bikes and amazingly hot Rook has changed ever since TRAGIC. She'd become more brave, less conscious of herself, and instead of shying away, she put herself out there, letting everybody see her (I'm not just talking about her body, you know). I don't really like girls that shy away too much, you know, those type of girls that blushes whenever boys see them in their underwear or something. Well, guess what? You actually gets to see (read) Rook naked in here.

And Ronin! (sigh) He's like....indescribable. Hot, amazing, awesome, charming, handsome, hot (again) with a cherry on top. I could go on forever, but I'm running out of wonderful words. He's protective of Rook, well, 1) he's her manager and 2) he's her official full-of-hotness boyfriend. There are points when I actually really wanted to slap him hard (read it and you'll know why. I don't want to give any spoilers) but there are points when I just wanted to KISS him harder. I know his feelings for Rook are real, that he really cares for her, and it hurts him that he has to leave her for a while. I swear, I would kill to have a man like that.

I know, I know. All of you are wondering who is the other hot guy (and I say 'other' because no one can beat Ronin). Well, he's Ford (yes, he is named after a truck), and he is the most annoying (hot as well) producer that I've ever read. Geez, asshole much? He is a total bastard when I first met him, but then as I read on, Ford isn't really that bad. I mean, yes, he makes Rook run steps every morning and he dislike (hate is a strong word) Ronin and Spender (ooooh Spencer. I'll get to him later). But I can't help but like him. He isn't my dream guy, but still, it wouldn't hurt to just try a little bit of him...LOL!!

Spencer, Spencer, Spencer. He's the lucky guy in this book. I mean, he gets to PAINT over Rook. Like, paint ALL OVER her (all over as in everywhere) you know what I mean? THAT IS TOTAL EPICNESS (and that is not a word). Spencer is like....a mix of everything. He's caring towards Rook, and even though he's a know....aroused when he was in a photo shoot with Rook, he takes everything all strictly business. I admire the fact that he doesn't take advantage of Rook when he (OH MY GAD) washes Rook in the shower (THAT IS EPIC HOTNESS). He's like the sort of guy who I would totally want as my best friend.

Julie made me feel everything...from Rook's POV to Ronin's. I felt a little bit of everything. From Rook's emotions towards Ronin, her desire for him and worries she has. I felt everything. Julie described everything so well that it just grabs at my heart and twists. Her words are like....a hungry snake, waiting to grab at someone to eat up. Well I admit, I have been gobbled up by her words so many times already that I don't think I can survive anymore. WOW, that was poetry, I should write that

Julie is currently writing Rook & Ronin's third book, PANIC, and I Am Just Junco book 5, RETURN. OH MY GAD I AM DYING TO WAIT FOR BOTH OF THEM!!! OH MY EFFING GAD!!! WHY?? WHY DID YOU HAVE TO ANNOUNCE IT TO ME?? GAHH!!! I'm sorry, I need to go cry in a corner now.....

About The Author

Find me here:
JA Huss is a SF and new adult romance junkie, has a love-hate relationship with the bad boys, and likes to write new adult books about people with real problems. She lives with her family on a small acreage farm in Colorado and has two donkeys named Paris and Nicole. Before writing fiction, she authored almost two hundred science workbooks and always has at least three works in progress. Her first new adult romance is called TRAGIC.

Tuesday, July 23, 2013

COVER REVEAL & GIVEAWAY: Love Among Pigeons by Abria Mattina

Guess what? I just heard that Abria (the author) has written a companion novella for WAKE (her debut book) which I absolutely LOVED when I first read it!!
And I'm so psyched for this companion book!!!
I even love the title!!
And here's the cover!!

Title: Love Among Pigeons
Author: Abria Mattina
Publication Date: August 23rd 2013

In this companion novella to Wake, Frank invites the Kirk family home to Smiths Falls for Thanksgiving weekend. Holidays are always a trial for the family that lost their daughter and sister, but Frank is hopeful that this Thanksgiving will be the exception. He has some happy news to share. If only he wasn't so reluctant to talk about it.
| Goodreads

It's cute!!!! Look at it!!!
It's so simple, but it's just so delicate and cute at the same time!!
I really want to read this so bad since I absolutely LOVE Wake (first book).
And Abria's holding a GIVEAWAY!!

About The Author

Abria Mattina works in marketing and book production. She holds a Certificate in Publishing from the New York University Summer Publishing Institute and a degree in English Literature and Psychology from the University of Ottawa. When she isn’t writing she enjoys travelling, eclectic books, blogging, and baking. She lives with her fiance, Daniel.
Her debut novel, WAKE, is about the struggle to redefine life after experiencing cancer and caring for an ill loved one.

Friday, July 19, 2013

BOOK BLITZ & GIVEAWAY: Epiphany by Christina Jean Michaels

Title: Epiphany
Genre: NA/17+ Romantic Suspense
Author: Christina Jean Michaels
Publication Date: July 2013

“I had my first psychic dream when I was nine. Psychic implied power, and powerful wasn’t a word I’d use to describe myself. I couldn’t foretell the future or conjure visions at will, but I couldn’t think of a more fitting word to describe what I sometimes saw in my dreams.”
For 23-year-old Mackenzie Hill, tossing her life down the garbage disposal is easy after a painful incident shatters her life. Her heart is bleeding, and moving to Watcher’s Point is a chance to start anew, only she isn’t prepared for the guy who walks out of her dreams and into the flesh. Literally . . . because she’s been dreaming about this sexy stranger for years.
Mackenzie is even less prepared to face the dark nature of her dreams. They’ve turned disturbingly gruesome, full of blood and murder, and when they begin to coincide with the media’s headlines, she and Aidan realize her visions might be the key to stopping a madman from killing again.
Only Aidan has painful secrets of his own, and perhaps the biggest danger of all is falling for him.
| Goodreads


Something inside me cracked right along with Aidan’s expression. Everything he’d been hiding spilled from his eyes.

“Aidan . . .”

“I need a drink.” He strode away, leaving me glued to the spot where he’d trapped me. A crash resounded from the kitchen, followed by splintering glass. I willed my feet to move, ignoring the little voice of reason pointing out that maybe I should leave him be for now.

He was sweeping broken glass into a dustpan when I walked in. “Are you okay?” Instantly, I wished I could cast a net and pull back the stupid, inconsiderate question. Of course he wasn’t okay. “I’m sorry. I know you’re not . . . okay.”

“Don’t worry about it. I know what you meant.” He emptied the dustpan into the trashcan and then opened a bottle of Jack Daniel’s, all the while refusing to meet my eyes.

“Mind sharing?” I asked. If there was ever a time for drinking, it was now.

“I thought you were beyond corruptible.”

I recalled how he’d said something similar on Halloween. “You remember more about that night than you let on, don’t you?”

He pulled two tumblers from a dark cherry wood cabinet. “I remember you.” Amber liquid sloshed into both glasses as he poured, and a moment later he closed the distance between us. “Straight up?” The question sounded like a challenge.

“Sure.” I gulped down the whiskey and ignored the burn as it slid down my throat. Heat ignited low in my belly, though whether from the alcohol or Aidan’s scrutiny, I wasn’t sure.

He leaned against the kitchen sink and finished off his own drink before pouring another. “I’m sorry I blew up on you. I didn’t come here to make friends . . . to complicate things.”

“I’m a complication?”

His laughter was empty, cold as a morgue. “You’re about as complicated as they come.”

I stared at the bottom of my glass. “Why’s that?”

“You look at me as if you see right through me. It’s unsettling.”

“I don’t mean to unsettle you.”

“Consider me unsettled. Problem is, I think you’re using more than eyesight.


About The Author

Christina Jean Michaels was born in Paradise, California, but she has found the true home of her heart in Eugene, Oregon where she finds plenty of inspiration for storytelling.
When she was young, her mother said she hated words. Now she can't imagine not writing. She became an avid reader when she was thirteen and discovered the world of Sweet Valley High. About a year later she realised she could play God and write about her own characters. She has been writing in some form ever since. She lives with her husband and their four children—three rambunctious UFC/wrestling-loving boys and one girl who steals everyone’s attention.

Sunday, July 14, 2013

REVIEW: Unbreakable by Elizabeth Norris

Unbreakable by Elizabeth Norris

Title: Unbreakable
Series: Unravelling #2
Author: Elizabeth Norris
Publication Date: June 8th 2013 (first published April 23rd 2013)
Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books
Edition: UK Edition (UK cover)

Four months after Ben disappeared through the portal to his home universe, Janelle believes she’ll never see him again. Her world is still devastated, but civilisation is slowly rebuilding, and life is finally starting to resume some kind of normality. Until Interverse agent Taylor Barclay shows up. He’s got a problem, and he needs Janelle’s help. Somebody from an alternate universe is running a human trafficking ring – kidnapping people and selling them on different Earths. And Ben, with his unique abilities, is the prime suspect. To make things worse, Janelle learns that someone she cares about – someone from her own world – has become one of the missing.
Now Janelle has five days to track down the real culprit. Five days to locate the missing people before they’re lost forever. Five days to reunite with the boy who stole her heart. Can she uncover the truth before everyone she cares about is killed?
In this heart-pounding sequel to Unravelling, author Elizabeth Norris explores the sacrifices we make to save the people we love and the worlds we’ll travel to find them.
| Goodreads

My Review

Why? Elizabeth, WHY?!?!?! Why the hell would you do that to me?!! When I saw this book in Waterstones, I HAD to get it, 1) because I'd read the first book and completely LOVED it and 2) LOOK AT THAT COVER!! I mean, I don't know who the guy is, but he is HOT!! (Is he supposed to be Ben or Barclay?) I love his eyes!! Those swoony eyes!!!

Anyway, back to the book, Elizabeth totally killed me when I finished the book. I was squirming on the floor wanting to throw the book at the wall but couldn't because it was one of my babies. But I swear, I just wanted to slap somebody after I finished. I mean, (a little bit of spoiler) WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT TO BARCLAY??!!

In Unbreakable, we get to know more about Taylor Barclay (an IA agent) than we did in Unravelling. I have to admit, I love him. Even though he was seen as the 'bad' character in the first book, somehow, I still couldn't help but fall in love with him. He's the sort of character who is IMPOSSIBLE not to fall in love with. But more on him later...

Janelle Tenner is exactly the same as she was in Unravelling, brave, selfless, and she always want to help people, make sure that they are safe. Ever since her boyfriend-from-another-planet stepped back to his Earth, she'd believed that she'll never see him again. She thought that he'd come back to his home, and start his life again. But that kind of went downhill when Barclay came to see her. 

I really enjoyed living in Janelle's life, knowing all her feelings. She wasn't the type that would always whine, she takes care of her brother and the whole lot of other survivors out there.

Ben, ben , ben...I have to admit, I didn't really like him very much. I found him ok in the first book, but didn't fall in love or anything like I did with Barclay. I have to say something first though, THIS IS NOT A LOVE-TRIANGLE. Ben was....I don't know. I mean, Janelle'd met about two copies of Ben, and she knew straight away that they weren't him. But when Ben meets one version of her, he thinks that she is Janelle? I mean, WHAT THE EFF?? He wouldn't do that if he'd really loved the real Janelle. That just annoys the hell out of me.

But Elijah! HILARIOUS ELIJAH!! He is one of Ben's best friend, and he is a total ass!! But somehow, I just can't help but like him either. He's an ass towards Janelle, but really, he cares about her and everybody else close to him. He actually hates Barclay, but he puts up with him and helps him with the plan. Elijah is just....unpredictable. He is a total bastard, but really deep inside, he is such a caring sweetie. 

Like I said before, the ending absolutely KILLED ME!! I mean, I cried for goodness sake. I actually CRIED! Elizabeth, why would you do that to me?? I feel like crying again now. Why? WHY? I can't wait for Elizabeth's next book. Something's coming in 2014, so I can't wait for her next epic story!!

About The Author

Elizabeth Norris briefly taught high school English and history before trading the southern California beaches and sunshine for Manhattan's recent snowpocalyptic winter.
She harbors dangerous addictions to guacamole, red velvet cupcakes, sushi, and Argo Tea, fortunately not all together.
Her first novel, UNRAVELING (Balzer+Bray, April 2012), is the story of one girl’s fight to save her family, her world, and the one boy she never saw coming.

Monday, July 08, 2013

BLOG TOUR & GIVEAWAY: Losing Francesca by J.A. Huss

Title: Losing Francesca
Author: J.A. Huss
Publication Date: July 1st 2013
Genre: NA Contemporary Romance

Francesca Sabatini came to America to take in the sights, celebrate her high school graduation, and have fun wasting time before college starts in the fall.
That’s not what happens.
Fresh off the plane and barely on American soil more than a handful of minutes, Francesca’s face is recognized by TSA scanners to be a match for a child who was kidnapped twelve years ago.
Brody Mason remembers the day Fiona Sullivan went missing during a family vacation in Italy and it’s haunted him his whole life. So when Francesca shows up at the Sullivan farm down the road, he’s compelled to figure out if this girl really is his long lost friend.
But Francesca knows she’s not Fiona Sullivan. She knows exactly who she is. At least she thinks she knows – until Brody Mason relentlessly pursues her and she begins to have feelings for him. Maybe being Fiona isn’t so bad?
Reality becomes blurred, secrets are revealed, and life will never be the same when the final questions are answered: Is she Francesca or Fiona? And where does she really belong?
| Goodreads |

My Review

**WARNING** There will be MAJOR screaming in this review! If you don't like reading a lot of exclamation marks, please turn around and walk away. Thank you very much!

OH MY F**KING ASS!!!!! I have said this before, and I will say it again. JULIE HUSS IS FREAKING AMAZING!! She can never ever ever ever ever stop surprising me with her wonderful and creative mind. Without her, I wouldn't be in the ridiculous mess. 

With all of her sci-fi and melting romance to swoon over, Julie created another amazing book for all of us to enjoy. Believe me, I was practically screaming when I found out I was part of the blog tour. And it's such an awesome thing that I love Julie and her books too. 

Now, onto the book. We didn't get to meet the bad-ass Junco or the smexy Rook in this one, no. Instead, we got to meet a pretty normal girl with a messed up life. We get to meet Francesca. She was supposed to come to America to go to college like normal people, but instead, the scanner matched her with a child that had gone missing in a family vacation twelve years ago. I have to say, there were moments where I got so confused of her names. You will get it when you read this awesome book!! 

I have to laugh out loud though when Francesca spoke Italian for the first few chapters. I had to keep on going to Google Translation to understand her. LOL!!! Ah it was so hilarious!! (I'm sorry, Julie, but I don't speak Italian)

And Brody.........AHHHHH!!! Brody is such a hottie. I swear, Julie can never run out of ways to describe swoon-worthy boys. I mean, HE RIDES A BIKE!!! HE RIDES A FREAKING BIKE FOR GOODNESS SAKE!! (oooooh I need to calm down) That's all I'm going to say about him, the rest, you just need to buy this book and read it.

There were other characters in here too that I particularly loved. Like Francesca's family. I love her supposed-to-be-brother Sean. He's protective and loving at the same time (and do I have to repeat how much I want an older brother?). Her whole family loves her even though they are not even 100% sure she is their missing daughter. I love the whole big family.

There was nothing to hate or even dislike about this book! I loved every second of it and I just couldn't tear my eyes off the screen. This is a MUST-READ!!! GO BUY IT!!! 

Now I just need to go into a corner and moan about having to wait for Manic (Rook & Ronin #2)  for so long!!! AHHH!!!

And guess what? Julie has offered us another chance to enter a giveaway!!! 
THIS IS WHY I LOVE HER SO MUCH!! She writes amazing books AND she gives awesome Giveaways!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway


About The Author

J. A. Huss likes to write new adult books that make you think and keep you guessing. Her favorite genre to read is space opera, but since practically no one reads those books, she writes new adult science fiction, paranormal romance, contemporary romance, urban fantasy, and books about Junco (who refuses to be saddled with a l
She has an undergraduate degree in horses, (yes, really–Thank you, Colorado State University) and a master’s degree in forensic toxicology from the University of Florida. She used to have a job driving around Colorado doing pretty much nothing but shooting the breeze with farmers, but now she just writes, runs the New Adult Addiction and Clean Teen Reads Book Blogs, and runs an online science classroom for homeschoolers.

Tuesday, July 02, 2013

ARC REVIEW: Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover

Losing Hope by Colleen Hoover

Title: Losing Hope
Author: Colleen Hoover
Publication Date: July 8th 2013
Publisher: Atria Books
Source: Netgalley, Atria Books

In the follow-up to Colleen Hoover’s #1 New York Times bestseller Hopeless, the charming and irresistible Dean Holder tells the passionate story that has melted thousands of hearts.
In Hopeless, Sky left no secret unearthed, no feeling unshared, and no memory forgotten, but Holder’s past remained a mystery.
Still haunted by the little girl he let walk away, Holder has spent his entire life searching for her in an attempt to finally rid himself of the crushing guilt he has felt for years. But he could not have anticipated that the moment they reconnect, even greater remorse would overwhelm him…
Sometimes in life, if we wish to move forward, we must first dig deep into our past and make amends. In Losing Hope, bestselling author Colleen Hoover reveals what was going on inside Holder’s head during all those hopeless moments—and whether he can gain the peace he desperately needs.
| Goodreads
*Thanks to Netgalley and Atria Books for providing me an eARC of this book*

My Review

Oh My Gosh! I never thought Colleen could surprise me as much as she did in her Slammed series, but she did. I completely love Hopeless (book 1), but Losing Hope just completely stole my heart. I love reading from another character's POV, and in this book, we get to see more of Holder instead of just Sky. 

I couldn't put this book down at all and I was practically just stuck to my kindle all day long. Reading from Holder's POV gave me a whole different story behind his past. Reading his words from the diary just about to bring tears to my eyes, seeing how much pain he was in after his twin sister died. I was completely addicted with his words. 

We get to se more of Holder in this book, there were so many questions left unanswered in Hopeless, and in this book, I finally get to understand. To be honest, I love reading with Holder's point of view more than Sky's. I don't know why, but I could just feel the pain and emotions more clearly in this book than in Hopeless. 

Colleen did an amazing job at filling in the empty spaces in here, they way she made me feel so strongly towards her words just...wreck the hell out of me. Holder was so charming, understanding, and of can I forget? HOT!!

I went through all of this in my head while reading this, and one part, it nearly brought me to tears. The part when he finally finds out just pushed me over the edge and I was stuck right there and then trying to fight tears away. I felt his pain, felt his sadness, happiness and love. 

I'm actually sad that I finished the book so quickly. I mean, I need to slow down my reading or else I'm going to burst. Like this bok, I didn't want it to end, but it did anyway. I can't wait to read Colleen's next book, and now, I need to go and read This Girl because I haven't read it yet and it is killing me to wait any longer! 

I love music. LOVE music. Namely The Avett Brothers, Lumineers, Pink, Eminem. I have eclectic taste? If you have any recommendations, send them my way! I'm addicted to diet pepsi and could tell you in a taste-test which restaurant it came from. It's a serious addiction, I tell you. I get stoked whenever I get a message from goodreads saying I have a new friend request me, dangit! If you want to know when I have new books out or just want to be inundated by random, pointless blog posts, follow me at Avoid my Twitter at all cost. It's propaganda. 

Monday, July 01, 2013

REVIEW: Angelfall by Susan Ee

Angelfall by Susan Ee

Title: Angelfall
Author: Susan Ee
Publication Date: May 21st 2011
Publisher: Feral Dream
Source: Borrowed From Library (UK)

It's been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.
Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.
Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.
Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels' stronghold in San Francisco where she'll risk everything to rescue her sister and he'll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.
| Goodreads

My Review

I don't know what I was thinking when I first read this book when it first came out in 2011. Back then, when I first started the book, I was like "omg this is so boring", but now??? After reading it again and got addicted to it?? I feel like slapping myself for being such an idiot.

This book was about a girl called Penryn looking for her sister in the ruins of an angel apocalypse. Penryn is strong and weak in some ways, but she hides it so she can be strong for her sister, and her hell of a mother. I admire her strength, her need of responsibility to look after her family, and her human feelings towards the person that she's supposed to hate, but can't help but like.

Raffe is an archangel, but his wings got cut off when we first meet him. Before when I first read this, I was like 'oh come on, when is this going to get better?' but now, I swear, I just really want to beat myself up for even thinking that. Raffe is HOT!! I mean, like smoking hot with hard packs and strong shoulders and everything (what could've made it better, was if Susan could've added the 'strong jaw' to her description of him. I mean, men with strong jaws are like...SMOKIN'). Huh, why is it so hot suddenly?

Anyway, when Penryn sees Raffe trying to fight off other angels, she helps him and...well...let's just say that the angels got annoyed that she interrupted their fight that they decided to take her sister. Reading this, I couldn't, AT ALL. Everything went so fast and I just couldn't put it down.

The relationship between Raffe and Penryn was so addicting. It wasn't going too fast, in fact, I was hoping it will go faster and stop the torturing for me...AHH!! But no, it had to continue like a love-hate relationship until I couldn't take it anymore and had to put down the book to go pee (but you don't need to know that LOL).

The action in here was also addicting. I love a girl who can defend herself and can fight, and Penryn can do all of that. She cared for Raffe when they were fights. And she even risked her life for him *sigh*. I could just picture the action in my head and again, I couldn't put it down AT ALL.

I completely love this book and cannot wait to read the next one!! Now excuse me while I go slap myself for being such an idiot when I first read it.

Susan Ee has eaten mezze in the old city of Jerusalem, surfed the warm waters of Costa Rica, and played her short film at a major festival. She has a life-long love of science fiction, fantasy and horror, especially if there's a touch of romance. She used to be a lawyer but loves being a writer because it allows her souped-up imagination to bust out and go feral. Angelfall (Penryn & the End of Days, Book 1) is her debut novel. You are invited to become her friend on Facebook, Twitter, or Goodreads.

BLOG TOUR: Addicted To You by Krista and Becca Ritchie

Addicted To You by Krista & Becca Ritchie

Title: Addicted To You
Author: Krista and Becca Ritchie
Publication Date: June 13th 2013
Publisher: K.B. Ritchie

No one would suspect shy Lily Calloway’s biggest secret. While everyone is dancing at college bars, Lily stays in the bathroom. To get laid. Her compulsion leads her to one-night stands, steamy hookups and events she shamefully regrets. The only person who knows her secret happens to have one of his own.
Loren Hale’s best friend is his bottle of bourbon. Lily comes at a close second. For three years, they’ve pretended to be in a real relationship, hiding their addictions from their families. They’ve mastered the art of concealing flasks and random guys that filter in and out of their apartment.
But when they go on a family boat trip, surrounded by open seas and limited male bodies in sight, Lily’s confronted with a big fear. Only one guy onboard can fill her addiction, and she’s sworn off going there with Loren Hale ever again.
Now the only person who can truly help her can barely help himself. 
| Goodreads |

My Review

This book was just....unbelievable. 

It'd been ages since I'd read a mature NA contemporary, and this book was the perfect book to read! This book wasn't just about losing yourself, it was about being blind to the lies that they'd made up to protect each other. 

Lily is a sex addict, and her best friend since childhood, Loren, is an alcoholic. Their relationship was just so understanding, admirable and just so cute!! They both cared about each other, and they both didn't want to accept the fact that there are something wrong with both of them. 

Lily wasn't like any other girls that I'd read in a NA Contemporary. She's strong and weak, and she shows both. She hides the fact that she's a sex addict because she's scared that if her family finds out, they'll throw her into some sort of hospital or asylum.

Loren, or Lo, doesn't accept that he's an alcoholic either. He just drinks without realising how much he's drinking. You might think he's a total asshat and he doesn't care about anything other than his booze. But that's not true. Lo cares about Lily way more that booze, in fact, he loves her. Lo is charming in so many ways even though he doesn't act like it. I was addicted the first time I met him i the book.

Lily and Lo's relationship is so complicated on so many levels. But the most important thing about their relationship is that they care and love each other. That's all it matters to them, well, with an exception of sex and booze.

In this book, we get to see through Lily's eyes, but as I read this book, I could feel the emotions from both characters. I could feel their desperation to hide their addiction, their vulnerability. I just couldn't help but cried a little bit. It was just so torturing reading what they've been through to hide themselves from their families. I just...I couldn't put the book down at all.

Krista and Becca did an awesome job creating up such a realistic book, helping any alcoholics and sex addicts out there. I can't help but get trapped in their words. I couldn't stop reading at all! I'm oficially a huge fan of Krista and Becca now! Can't wait what they have in store next!

~ June

About The Author

Becca Ritchie is a carnivore of pop culture, television, film and of course YA and NA books. While in college, she worked at The CW television network affiliate in Atlanta and put her vampiric knowledge to good use, blogging about hit series and swooning over actors’ abs. When she’s not blogging, she writes novels and has teamed up with her twin sister. Their New Adult novel ADDICTED TO YOU comes out July of 2013.
Talk to Becca via Twitter @Becca_Ritchie and visit Becca and Krista’s YA Book Blog Nawanda Files. To learn more about ADDICTED TO YOU mosey on over to

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...