Sunday, June 30, 2013


Stacking The shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews
where you can show off the books that you've bought/won/borrowed etc.

I have a piled this week so I instead, I decided to do a VLOG.
This is my first VLOG ever so be nice...LOL!!

This is the recap of what I showed you in the video above.

ARCs Received:

*Thanks to Netgalley, Atria Books, IBPA, Mischief Books and Amelia from Musings Of A Blogder*

What's your STACKING THE SHELVES? Link me below in the comments so I can check it out!!

Monday, June 24, 2013

NA Crush Tourney: VOTE FOR TRAVIS "MadDog" MADDOX!!!

As you know (or if you didn't), the New Adult Crush Tourney is starting TOMORROW!!
I know you guys are all hyped up about the YA CRush Tourney, bu tno.
This time, it's NEW ADULT!!

So you should all know that Travis "Mad Dog" Maddox is so FREAKIN' HOT!!
I don't know who's he up next to in the tournament yet.
He's either up against Rule from Rule or Matt from Flat-Out Love.

His tournament isn't up until Thursday July 4th, so REMEMBER!!
On July 4th, head over to:

to vote for him.
For those that do love him out there (I love you), GO AND STALK, SHARE VOTE, TWEET, whatever, for him so he gets more vote!
I wish he will win because,



Muwhahaha!! I LOVE HIM!!
 *sigh* *sigh again because of hotness overload*



Saturday, June 22, 2013

REVIEW: Boy Nobody by Allen Zadoff

Boy Nobody by Allen Zadoff

Title: Boy Nobody
Author: Allen Zadoff
Publication Date: May 23rd 2013
Publisher: Orchard Books

Who is Boy Nobody?
The perennial new kid at school:
New town, new name... new mission.
The perfect assassin:
Kill your target and move on.
No fear. No sympathy. No remorse.
But this time is different. The stakes are deadlier. The memories are surfacing. And Boy Nobody is about to find out who he really is.

| Goodreads

My Review

Boy Nobody was an epic, fast-paced and thrilling story. The book went through, mystery, history, secrets and bad-ass fighting. Allen did an awesome job at creating up this world filled with action, mysteries and surprises that will blow your head off.

When I first saw this on GoodReads, I thought "oh it sounds interesting, let's give it a try", but this book wasn't just interesting, it was AMAZEBALL AWESOME!! I mean, who can chase after a gang of three, killed two of them while holding a drunk girl in his arms? Boy Nobody can!! 

When I first bought this book, I left it for a while and now I just want to slap myself for leaving it for so long!! I couldn't help but get pulled in every step that Boy Nobody took, every word pulled me in like I was trapped in a trance. 

Boy Nobody has no name, that is because he is after all "Boy Nobody". When he gets a new assignment, he meets a girl. A girl that makes him think, feel and remember. I was literally jumping up and down on my butt as I read this book. It was just so thrilling. In every fight scene my leg would twitch or my fingers just couldn't stop tapping. I felt like it was happening right there before me.

There was a tiny romance part in this book, but it didn't take over the whole story. It was a change of scene for me since I'm a big sucker for bad-ass romance, but it was a good change. Boy Nobody just took everything out of my mind, only focusing on him and his assignment. 

The ending took a HUGE turn. I was like "WHAT THE HELL??" and "How is the second book going to continue?". And yes, you heard it right, there is going to be a second book. AHH!! I was completely surprised by the ending. It just slapped me in the face and I was like "I WANT MORE!!". How can you survive after an ending like that?

Allen did an amazing job creating Boy Nobody's world up. I'm not going to tell you what Boy Nobody's name is because it's a secret, so you will have to just buy it and read it yourself!! I CANNOT WAIT FOR THE NEXT BOOK!!

About The Author

Allen Zadoff is the author of the new thriller series, Boy Nobody. His YA novel, Food, Girls, and Other Things I Can't Have won the Sid Fleischman Humor Award and was a YALSA selection for Most Popular Paperbacks of 2012. His second novel was My Life, the Theater, and Other Tragedies, the story of a techie hiding from life after a family tragedy. His third novel Since You Left Me is set in Los Angeles and tells the story of a religious school student who doesn't believe. He also wrote the memoir for adults, Hungry:Lessons Learned on the Journey from Fat to Thin.
Allen is a graduate of Cornell University and the Harvard University Institute for Advanced Theatre Training. Visit him on the web at

Wednesday, June 19, 2013


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking The Spine
This week's EPIC pick is :

Title: Manic
Author: J.A. Huss
Series: Rook & Ronin #2
Publication Date: August 1st 2013
Genre: New Adult Contemporary

TRAGIC is over and Rook is ready for the future—Spencer Shrike and the STURGIS contract!
It’s three months of body art modeling! That means three months of Spencer Shrike’s paintbrush all over her body, three months in front of Antoine’s camera, and three months of twenty-four hour filming for Spencer’s Biker Channel reality show.
Wait a minute…what reality show? Maybe she should’ve read that STURGIS contract a little closer? ;)
Sure, Rook’s bank account is almost overflowing, but Ronin is angry, Clare is trying to escape rehab, Antoine is a worried mess, and Elise is just trying to hold everyone together. Her new family is about to fall apart before she even gets the chance to enjoy them.
Add in a mysterious man from her past, a road trip to the famous Sturgis Motorcycle Rally, and a final show in front of the entire world where all her good are on display, and you’ve Manic—a new adult contemporary romance that will definitely make your summer sizzle!

As you all know, I am in LOVE with J.A. Huss.
And you all should know that from her science-fiction series, I Am Just Junco, to Tragic (book 1),
my heart had totally fallen for her words completely. 
I want to read this book SO BAD that I could die!!
I am desperate for this to come out and I swear, I will get my hands on this book!!

I did a cover reveal for this book the other day, did you see it? 
IT'S SMOKING HOT!! I mean, how can you NOT love that??
MANIC MANIC MANIC MANIC MANIC *continue chanting*!!
No, I'm dying!! 

AHHH *collapse with a thud at J.A. Huss' feet*

About The Author

JA Huss is a SF and new adult romance junkie, has a love-hate relationship with the bad boys, and likes to write new adult books about people with real problems. She lives with her family on a small acreage farm in Colorado and has two donkeys named Paris and Nicole. Before writing fiction, she authored almost two hundred science workbooks and always has at least three works in progress. Her first new adult romance is called TRAGIC.

Monday, June 17, 2013

ARC REVIEW: Left Drowning by Jessica Park

Left Drowning by Jessica Park

Title: Left Drowning
Author: Jessica Park
Publication Date: July 16th 2013
Publisher: Amazon Children Publishing

What does it take to rise from life’s depths, swim against the current, and breathe?
Weighted down by the loss of her parents, Blythe McGuire struggles to keep her head above water as she trudges through her last year at Matthews College. Then a chance meeting sends Blythe crashing into something she doesn’t expect—an undeniable attraction to a dark-haired senior named Chris Shepherd, whose past may be even more complicated than her own. As their relationship deepens, Chris pulls Blythe out of the stupor she’s been in since the night a fire took half her family. She begins to heal, and even, haltingly, to love this guy who helps her find new paths to pleasure and self-discovery. But as Blythe moves into calmer waters, she realizes Chris is the one still strangled by his family’s traumatic history. As dark currents threaten to pull him under, Blythe may be the only person who can keep him from drowning.
| Goodreads

My Review

Left Drowning just left me completely breathless. I enjoyed Jessica's writing ever since Flat-Out Love, and now this....this was just amazing. 

Left Drowning left me in a complete hole, digging myself back up and wanting more. When I first picked this book up, I was like 'Oh my god! I cannot put this down!'. The story starts off with a bang! We get introduced to Blythe straight away. I love her character, her personality. I like how Jessica described Blythe as 'Bananas'. I found that hilarious and was laughing out loud straight away. Blythe wasn't self-centred, she cares about her family, especially her brother James. 

Jessica made me jealous, AGAIN! I mean, I've always wanted to have an older brother (maybe four) and she created this perfect family of three bothers and a sister. No, not perfect, they weren't perfect. But they were really loveable. I fell straight heads over heels over Sabin straight away when we first meet him. Funny though, I always thought he was the older brother.....hmmm. Anyway, his entrance was just HILARIOUS! I mean (spoiler) how can you not laugh when a guy comes up to you and steal your coffee and start rambling? EPIC!!

Eric and Estelle are twins brothers and sisters. Eric was AWESOME! I mean, I have nothing against gay people, in fact, I LOVE gay people. And Eric was just a perfect guy, I swear, I wish he could be my best friend. Estelle....I don't know how to describe her really. She's awesome, rude, foul-mouthed, kind, sweet...I could carry on but I don't want to bore you...LOL! She was an amazing best friend, sister and roommate. She swears a lot, but I like a girl with a foul mouth hahaha!!

And of course, how could I forget? Chris! Chris was.....not what I was expecting. And that means good and bad. The good part is that he's so charming! And his relationship between his siblings is just so admiring. He's protective over them, not letting them push things too far but still letting them have fun. Reading this, I could definitely tell that their past was tough, like, REALLY tough! And I just admire how he doesn't give up. He stays calm for his siblings, not wanting them to panic or be sad. He just wants them to be....happy.

The bad part is that I don't really like the insta-love thing. I was never really a big fan of insta-love, but I sometimes I like it unexpectedly. I mean, in this book, I like the relationship between Blythe and Chris at first, but then when I get deeper into the story, I thought that there was too much secrets going on and they barely know each other to actually be in love. But like I said, Jessica surprised me a lot in this book. 

But overall, I really did totally enjoy this book A LOT! I swear, I could just blab everything out right now but then I would spoil the surprise for you. But seriously, Jessica took me completely by surprise. In my head I was like "oh I know what's going to happen next" but then BAM! It hits me straight in the face, slapping me for being so stupid. OH MY GOD! This book was amazing! The surprise is HUGE! I enjoy this book so much! And I'm so lucky, I was one of the ARC readers! But when this book comes out, you have to go and buy it! It will NOT disappoint!! 

Ooooh and I have to ask, what do you think about the two covers? What do you think is better? I thought the pink dress one is better (the one on the left).....I don't know why. Lol!!

About The Author

Jessica Park is the author of the young adult novels FLAT-OUT LOVE and RELATIVELY FAMOUS; five Gourmet Girl mysteries (written as Jessica Conant-Park); and the e-shorts FACEBOOKING RICK SPRINGFIELD and WHAT THE KID SAYS (Parts 1 & 2).
Jessica grew up in the Boston area and attended Macalester College in St. Paul, Minnesota. After spending four years in the frigid north, including suffering through one memorable Halloween blizzard, Jessica hightailed it back to the east coast. She now lives in (relatively balmy) New Hampshire with her husband, son, bananas dog named Fritzy, and two selfish cats. When not writing, Jessica indulges her healthy addictions to Facebook, Rick Springfield, and super-sweet coffee beverages.


Do you have any idea how excited I am with revealing the cover for this book?!!
Of course you do!! Everyone knows that I love J.A. Huss!!!
I love her books, her writing and how could I forget?
Excuse me while I go fangirling to myself!!

Now, who wants to see the cover??? 
I DO *raises both hands* 

(Drum roll please)
Here it is!!

Title: Manic
Author: J.A. Huss
Series: Rook & Ronin #2
Publication Date: August 1st 2013
Genre: New Adult Contemporary

TRAGIC is over and Rook is ready for the future—Spencer Shrike and the STURGIS contract!
It’s three months of body art modeling! That means three months of Spencer Shrike’s paintbrush all over her body, three months in front of Antoine’s camera, and three months of twenty-four hour filming for Spencer’s Biker Channel reality show.
Wait a minute…what reality show? Maybe she should’ve read that STURGIS contract a little closer? ;)
Sure, Rook’s bank account is almost overflowing, but Ronin is angry, Clare is trying to escape rehab, Antoine is a worried mess, and Elise is just trying to hold everyone together. Her new family is about to fall apart before she even gets the chance to enjoy them.
Add in a mysterious man from her past, a road trip to the famous Sturgis Motorcycle Rally, and a final show in front of the entire world where all her good are on display, and you’ve Manic—a new adult contemporary romance that will definitely make your summer sizzle!
| Goodreads

I mean, it's smoking hot for Junco's sake!!!

AHH I think I might be dying!! 
*Faint due to too much hotness*
And guess what??
There's a trailer as well!!

(Drum roll again please)


*crying* Why does August have to be so far away??
*sobbing over Junco's shoulder*

But that is not it!!
NO NO NO my friend!!

J.A. Huss has got to be the best author ever because she's holding a giveaway!!
A HUGE GIVEAWAY that I am wishing *crossing my fingers, arms and toes* to win!!
I need this because my life depends on it!!


This is what I am wishing to win!!

*crossing everything, feet, toes, arms, hands, fingers and body*

About The Author

J. A. Huss likes to write new adult books that make you think and keep you guessing. Her favorite genre to read is space opera, but since practically no one reads those books, she writes new adult science fiction, paranormal romance, contemporary romance, urban fantasy, and books about Junco (who refuses to be saddled with a label).
She has an undergraduate degree in horses, (yes, really–Thank you, Colorado State University) and a master’s degree in forensic toxicology from the University of Florida. She used to have a job driving around Colorado doing pretty much nothing but shooting the breeze with farmers, but now she just writes, runs the New Adult Addiction and Clean Teen Reads Book Blogs, and runs an online science classroom for homeschoolers.

Sunday, June 16, 2013

BLOG STOP & GIVEAWAY: In Too Deep by Michelle Kemper Brownlow

Title: In Too Deep
Author: Michelle Kemper Brownlow
Publication Date: June 6th 2013
Publisher: Sapphire Star Publishing
Genre: New Adult Romance

Long- Gracie has just finished her freshman year of college in Memphis when she takes a job at a local pizza joint in her home town of McKenzie, Tennessee. She is the epitome of innocence when she meets Noah. Noah is unabashedly handsome, intriguingly reckless and just cocky enough to be sexy. Gracie’s instincts tell her to stay far away from him and based on the stories she hears from her co-workers he leaves broken hearts in his wake. But still, she can’t explain her fascination with him.
Noah puts aside his bad boy ways when what he thought was a summer crush has him unexpectedly falling in love. But soon after Gracie transfers to UT Knoxville to be with Noah, their unexpected love becomes riddled with anger, deceit and humiliation.
Jake, Noah’s former roommate and Gracie’s best friend, can no longer be a bystander. Gracie’s world falls out from beneath her and when she breaks she turns to Jake for strength. As Jake talks her through a decision she’s not yet strong enough to make, together they uncover a truth so ugly neither of them is prepared for its fallout. Will Jake pull her to the surface or is Gracie Jordan finally In Too Deep?
| Amazon
Check the full tour schedule HERE!

My Review

First, I have to say that this story was very intense. The relationship in this book makes you go like 'What the hell?' and 'What's going to happen?'. It was a very surprising book, and there were moments that I enjoyed and not enjoyed. I had a mixed emotion with this book.

We get to meet Gracie, who I thought was very innocent, a kind girl and all that. But there were times when she was too innocent and she keeps apologising when it wasn't even her fault. There were times when I get really annoyed and I'm just like 'Stand up for yourself and stop apologising!'. Like I said, she's the sort of good girl who still has her virginity and all of that. But that all changed when she met Noah. 

Noah is the 'bad boy' who is in a frat, Sigma Chi (I actually have no idea what a frat is since I live in the UK). For me, he was a big fat jerk, he took Gracie for granted and played with her heart physically and mentally. I was all like 'I want to slap that guy so bad!'. Even though he was quite a jerk, I could tell that he hasn't fell in love with the right person before since all he does is sleep around. But what I'm really mad about is that I can't believe Gracie was so blind. I guess this book is basically telling the reader how people who are in love are blinded. I could kind of relate to it since it happened in real life before. I like how the author create a world of a relationship where I can relate to really easily.

Gracie might be blinded by love, but Jake isn't. He's Gracie's best friend, and I just love their relationship together. I mean, I would kill to have a boy as my best friend and have him to hug me when I need him. Awww. I love how he didn't lie to her, he told her the truth even though her knew it was going to hurt. That's what best friends are for, right?

But I have to say though, this book was a bit confusing to follow, because it keeps going back and forth between sophomore year, Christmas break or Spring break. It keeps bouncing back and forth so it was quite hard to follow, I had to go back a few times to understand where I was with the story. So this kind of threw me off track and made me lose concentration.

Overall, I thought Michelle did a great job at creating a world of love where we all could relate to about being blinded by love. I actually enjoyed reading this, but not as much as I expected :) 


About The Author

Michelle Kemper Brownlow has been a storyteller her entire life. Her debut was on the high school cheerleading bus granting requests to re-tell her most embarrassing moments for a gaggle of hysterical squadmates.
Earning her Bachelor’s degree from Penn State University in Art Education and then marrying her very own “Jake,” she moved to Binghamton, NY where she taught high school. After having two children she quit work and finished her Master’s degree in Elementary Education at Binghamton University.
The Brownlow family of four moved to Michelle’s hometown of Morgantown, PA while the children were still quite young. A few years after moving, her family grew by one when they welcomed a baby into their home through the gift of adoption. The family still resides in PA, just miles from where that high school cheer bus was parked.
Michelle has been an artist for as long as she can remember, always choosing pencils and crayons over toys and puzzles. As a freelance illustrator, her simple characters play the starring roles in numerous emergent reader books published by Reading Reading Books.
“Writing is my way of making sense of the world. When I give my characters life on the pages I write, it frees up space in my mind to welcome in new stories that are begging to be told,” says Brownlow

Saturday, June 15, 2013

GFC Is going to 3 WEEKS!! Follow me on BlogLovin' !!

Hey guys,
GFC (Google follower) is going away in about 3 weeks, and I don't want to lose any of you,
so please, if you can, follow me on BLOGLOVIN' at the side bar.

I know, it's annoying because now I need to start following other blogs on BlogLovin' 
before I lose them!!
I love all of my readers and followers, so please, if you want to see more, please follow me on BlogLovin' 
And I will put up Networked Blogs so others can follow me there too!!
Thank you so much for all of my readers and followers!!

BLOG STOP: Hidden by M. Lathan

Title: Hidden
Author: M. Lathan
Series: Hidden #1
Publication Date: November 2012
Genre: YA Paranormal

Sixteen-year-old Leah Grant has given up on being normal. She’d settle for stopping the voices in her head, intrusive visions of the future, and better odds of making it to her seventeenth birthday.
That’s the thing about pretending to be human in a world where magic used to exist – at any moment, her cover could be blown and she’ll be burned to death like the rest of the witches.
Everything changes when she loses control of her powers and flees the orphanage she grew up in. She desperately wants to be invisible but finds her face plastered on every news channel as humans panic over the possible resurgence of her kind. And now the hunters won’t give up until they find her.
Making friends for the first time in her life and falling in love with one of them drives her to discover why she is unlike any being she’s ever met – human or otherwise. The dangerous powers inside of her that would repel Nathan, her new, handsome reason for living, are priceless to some. The locked up forever kind of priceless. And to others, they are too dangerous to allow her to live.
Let’s hope she can stay hidden.
| Goodreads
The full tour schedule HERE

My Review

Hidden starts off with the 'What am I doing here?' type of beginning. I was a bit confused at first, wondering who was that girl and what was happening and all of those questions that runs around in your head. This was a surprising book, there were a lot of unique things going on in here. This is probably going to be the next YA Paranormal hit.

We get to meet Leah, whose real name is actually Christine. At first, I thought she was quite weak in some ways but strong in another. There were times that I just wanted to shout at her and scream 'stand up for yourself!' but I know that she isn't the sort of girl to lose it like that. 

And I seriously love love LOVE Paul, Nate and Emma. I swear, Paul is like...the joker in my brain. I laughed at everything he says, I couldn't help but just turn everything he says into jokes. He's just that funny. And I also love Emma and Nate. Emma was more of the weird best friend, while Nate was like the bigger brother (not literally) in the family. 

M. Lathan did a great job at creating the humour and mystery behind this book! I really enjoyed the surprises that jumped out at me along the way. Even though I'm not much of a YA Paranormal girl, this book was really unique and I found myself enjoying this more than I thought!! 

Pick up this book now! And the second book in the series, Lost, is coming out soon!! So keep your eyes out for it!!

About The Author

M. Lathan lives in San Antonio with her husband and mini-schnauzer. She enjoys writing and has a B.S. in Psych and a Masters in Counseling. Her passion is a blend of her two interests – creating new worlds and stocking them with crazy people. She enjoys reading anything with interesting characters and writing in front of a window while asking rhetorical questions … like her idol Carrie Bradshaw.

COVER REVEAL: Ghost Hold by Ripley Patton

As many of you know, Ripley Patton's first novel, Ghost Hand, is also the first book in a series known as The PSS Chronicles. While Ghost Hand has been getting rave reviews on Amazon and was recently chosen as the June Book of the Month for a Goodreads Book Club with over 1300 members, Ripley has been hard at work writing the second book, Ghost Hold. 

Ghost Hold is in the final stages of publication, which will ultimately be funded through the GHOST HOLD KICKSTARTER PROJECT, just as Ghost Hand was funded last year. The current Ghost Hold Kickstarter project was 41% funded in the first week, and when it reaches the halfway mark of $1250, Ripley is going to release the first chapter of the new book to all backers, with more chapters to come later as funding builds. 

So, in order to celebrate, and perhaps entice you to back the project and help make Ghost Hold a reality, Ripley is revealing the cover of Ghost Hold this weekend here and all over the internet. 


Title: Ghost Hold
Author: Ripley Patton
Series: The PSS Chronicles #2
Publication Date: September 2013

Olivia Black is back.
Only this time she isn't the one in need of rescue.
Samantha James, rich, popular, and an award-winning composer at age seventeen, is the next target on the CAMFers list. And in order to convince Samantha to come with them, Olivia and Passion must pose as cousins, blend into the most affluent high school in Indianapolis, and infiltrate a mysterious cult known as The Hold.
Olivia doesn't expect it to be easy, even with the PSS guys backing them up. But what she discovers over the course of the mission will call into question everything she ever believed about herself, her ghost hand, and especially about Marcus, the guy she is undoubtedly falling in love with.

What do you think about the cover??!! I read the first book already and it is AWESOMENDO!!
It was just....ahh I need this book already!!
For those who haven't read Ghost Hand (book 1) yet, then you're in luck!!
Ghost Hand is currently FREE from 6/14/13 to 6/18/13 !!! 

| Amazon

EEEHH!! I just want more Marcus and Olivia!! And of course, who would forget? 
(You know me Ripley, you know how much I love Yale!! Why are you torturing me??)
I cannot wait for this book to come out!! ahhhh!!
I'm sorry that I am now a screaming maniac, but who cares!!

Wednesday, June 12, 2013

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY: Once We Were by Kat Zhang

Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosed by Breaking The Spine
This week's pick is Once We Were by Kat Zhang

Title: Once We Were
Author: Kat Zhang
Series: The Hydrid Chronicles #2
Expected Publication: September 17th 2013
Publisher: Harper Collins

"I'm lucky just to be alive"
Eva was never supposed to have survived this long. As the recessive soul, she should have faded away years ago. Instead, she lingers in the body she shares with her sister soul, Addie. When the government discovered the truth, they tried to “cure” the girls, but Eva and Addie escaped before the doctors could strip Eva’s soul away.
Now fugitives, Eva and Addie find shelter with a group of hybrids who run an underground resistance. Surrounded by others like them, the girls learn how to temporarily disappear to give each soul some much-needed privacy. Eva is thrilled at the chance to be alone with Ryan, the boy she’s falling for, but troubled by the growing chasm between her and Addie. Despite clashes over their shared body, both girls are eager to join the rebellion.
Yet as they are drawn deeper into the escalating violence, they start to wonder: How far are they willing to go to fight for hybrid freedom? Faced with uncertainty and incredible danger, their answers may tear them apart forever.
| Goodreads

I received the first book as an ARC from Harper Collins on a school trip but I left it on my shelf for like a year because I didn't really find it interesting. But I slapped myself after that. 
It was AMAZING!! 
I didn't know why I didn't read it earlier. And since I read it a while ago, I haven't wrote a review :( 
Sad, I know. But I promise when I get this book, I will definitely write a review!!
I want this book so bad!! And I LOVE the cover!! It's so amazing!!

What's your WAITING ON WEDNESDAY? Link it below so I can check it out!!

Tuesday, June 11, 2013

REVIEW: Deeper We Fall by Chelsea M. Cameron

Deeper We Fall by Chelsea M. Cameron

Title: Deeper We Fall
Series: Fall And Rise #1
Author: Chelsea M. Cameron
Publication Date: January 24th 2013
Publisher: DRC Publishing

Two years after her best friend was involved in a car accident that caused a traumatic brain injury, Lottie Anders is ready to start her freshman year of college. Ready to move on. Ready to start forgetting the night that ripped her life apart.
Her plans come to a screeching halt when not one, but both brothers responsible for the accident end up back in her life again.
Zack is cruel, selfish and constantly rubbing what happened to her friend in Lottie's face.
Zan is different. He listens to her awkward ramblings. He loves "To Kill a Mockingbird" as much as she does, and his dark eyes are irresistible. His words are few and far between, but when he does speak, she can't help but listen.
The trouble is, Zan was the driver in the accident, and now Lottie's discovered he lied to her about what happened that night. Now she must decide if trusting him again will lead to real forgiveness, or deeper heartache.
| Goodreads
*Review copy provided by NetGalley*

My Review

I really had high hopes for this book, and to be honest, it did reached my expectations in just some parts. I really like the plot, the characters and the relationship between the characters. 

Lottie (Charlotte) Anders' best friend, Lexie, was in a car accident involving two drunk boys, a car and a deer. Lexie now has a traumatic brain injury, she doesn't remember Lottie being her best friend and she doesn't remember the car accident or what happened before that either. Of course, I could feel the pain that Lottie felt whenever she visited Lexie, that this Lexie wasn't like the Lexie before. I could see the sudden empty space in her life whenever we get to see Lexie. 

Another thing I really love about this book was the relationship between the siblings and friends. I seriously am so jealous of Lottie and Will's relationship. I mean, I know that they are twins and everything, but they just make me so jealous and make me miss my older sister more. I seriously want a Twindar. HAHA!! And of course, how can I forget about Zack and Zan (Alexander). Zack is kind of a jerk towards girls and other people, but really, when it comes down to his brother, he's really protective. He tries to help Zan become himself again and I find that really nice between brothers. Normally, whenever you see brothers, you always see them fighting. But between Zack and Zan, they know everything about each other, and they support each other.

The only thing I have a problem with this book was that, I didn't feel a connection. Between Lottie and Zan, I couldn't feel the connection between them and I just couldn't picture their hate-like relationship going anywhere. I found myself liking the other characters more than the main characters. I mean, I fell in love with Stryker and felt in instant connection. It was like I NEEDED to read and know more about Stryker, but with Zan and Lottie, I just couldn't feel anything. 

I also have to say this. I LOVE SIMON!! I'm telling you!! He has got to be the best best friend and roommate EVER!! I just love him in every way that you can describe. 

Even though I couldn't feel a connection with Zan and Lottie, the next book is about Stryker and I REALLY NEED to know more about Stryker. I mean, I fell in love straight away, at his protectiveness. And of course, how can I forget? His lip ring!!! He has a lip ring!! AHHH!! 

I cannot wait to buy the next book "Faster We Burn" !!! Eeeeeeh!! So happy!!

About The Author

Chelsea M. Cameron is a YA/NA New York Times/USA Today Best Selling author from Maine. Lover of things random and ridiculous, Jane Austen/Charlotte and Emily Bronte Fangirl, red velvet cake enthusiast, obsessive tea drinker, vegetarian, former cheerleader and world's worst video gamer. When not writing, she enjoys watching infomercials, singing in the car and tweeting (this one time, she was tweeted by Neil Gaiman). She has a degree in journalism from the University of Maine, Orono that she promptly abandoned to write about the people in her own head. More often than not, these people turn out to be just as weird as she is.
Her New Adult Contemporary Romance titles include My Favorite Mistake, which has been bought by Harlequin along with a sequel, Deeper We Fall and Faster We Burn (April 20, 2013)
Her Young Adult books include Nocturnal, Nightmare and Neither, the first three books in The Noctalis Chronicles. The fourth and final book, Neverend will be out in 2013. Whisper, the first in The Whisper Trilogy is also available, with the second book in the series, Silence and the final book, LIsten coming out in 2014.

Monday, June 10, 2013

BLOG STOP & GIVEAWAY: A Sliver Of Hope by Karla J. Nellenbach

Title: A Sliver Of Hope
Author: Karla J. Nellenbach
Publication Date: March 25th 2013
Publisher: Booktrope Editions

My twin sister was the only person in the world I thought I’d known inside and out. Apparently, I was wrong.
Twin sisters share a unique bond, one that can't be broken by miles, time, or even death. Hannah and Hope Morton are no exception. When Hope takes her own life, Hannah loses a sister and a best friend, a catastrophe she isn't sure she'll survive herself.
With her family in ruins, Hannah is slowly disappearing, drowning in a sea of misery. Even her wild, energetic best friend can't pull her out of her grief. Desperate to help Hannah, her brother comes home from college, bringing his best friend Julian along, the first boy to break Hannah’s heart. None of their efforts are enough to pull Hannah off her self destructive path, though. Julian is the only one who can get through to her, working his way into her frozen soul with cocky remarks and genuine love that warms her from the inside out.
As Hannah works to find answers, she continues to uncover new secrets and people that reveal a side of Hope she had never shared with her twin. Alone now, Hannah must make a decision of her own: move on and start a new life with the people she has left, or let the weight of her grief drag her down with her sister.

My Review

A Sliver Of Hope was really about not realising that you are disappearing until you're already too far gone. Hannah and Hope are twin sisters. They are two beans in a pod, two souls and one heart. So when Hope takes her own life, Hannah is left alone with nothing to clue her in on why Hope did it.

I really enjoyed this book! One surprising part of this book though, was that it was written in a diary entry. I found that really different and unique compared to other books out there and it was a great change. 

Hannah was a really likeable girl, I felt like I really connected with her in some ways. I haven't lost anyone really close to me yet, so I wouldn't know what it felt like. But I could feel that pain that Hannah felt inside by reading the author's words. It was just so addicting, like I was living as Hannah, feeling all of her emotions. Anger, happiness and pain.

By reading the diary entries that she wrote, I really could picture everything that she was describing. And of course, I really love Hannah's relationship with her brother. How he was so protective towards his sister, and how he cares so much about her. 

Of course, how can I forget about Julian? He was charming, he's really protective of Hannah as well, but in a really good way. I really love Karla's writing. I love how she wrote the story in a diary entry instead of a normal story, I really love how unique this book was!! 

It was a bit short, but that just made me want MORE!! I can't wait to see what Karla has in store next!! I just couldn't put this down!!!


About The Author

Karla Nellenbach divides her time between day jobbing, writing, and indulging in her Winchester obsession. The rest of her day is spent playing butler to a cranky old man masquerading as a housecat and two rambunctious puppies that closely resemble small horses. Born and raised in the wilds of Michigan, she knows two immutable facts: (1) it is entirely possible to live in a thumb, and (2) you definitely can go home again…you just might not survive the winter. Having resided in the sunscape of Florida for the last decade, she’s still on a quest to see a real live alligator outside of the “petting” zoo. Karla is currently at work on her next novel.  You can find more information on Karla and her work at her website, The Last Word:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...