Sunday, April 28, 2013

REVIEW: Tragic by J.A. Huss

Tragic by J.A. Huss

Plot:


Rook Walsh is TRAGIC
Because life so far – just sucks. Some girls get parents. Rook got the foster care system. Some girls get Prince Charming. Rook got an abusive frog. Some girls get lucky…
Rook got a second chance.
And she took it. Because when fate throws you a bone – you grab it with both hands and run.
Antoine Chaput knows the minute he spies Rook in his photography studio that she’s got The Look. The dark and desperate look he must have to land the exclusive TRAGIC media contract.
Rook is paired up with top model, Ronin, and he’s everything her abusive ex-boyfriend wasn’t. Patient, gentle, happy, attentive, and sexy! He knows exactly what to do to make Rook blush for Antoine’s camera.
Rook’s luck changes in an instant and suddenly she’s the darling of the modeling world. It’s a dream job to go with a dream guy and all she has to do is look pretty and follow directions. But there’s always a price to pay – and Rook is about to get the bill.

My Review:


I'M SCREAMING!!
AGAIN? REALLY, J.A. HUSS? WHY CAN'T YOU JUST STOP BEING SO..........AMAZING!!!???

J.A. Huss surprised me AGAIN with Tragic. First, I fell in love with the I Am Just Junco series, now she has me screaming over Tragic. What in the world is wrong with you J. Anne? Why can't you just stop being so amazing and incredible?

So (breathe out calmly), now that I am under control, I can finally write a review.

This book left me utterly speechless in the middle of the night. I received this as an ARC from the author herself, and I finished it in 2 whole hours straight (not straight since I had to go to the bathroom couple of times, but you don't need to know that). I have to say, it's the most SMEXIEST book ever! I mean........why is it so hot in this room?

The story starts of with Rook Walsh. She is homeless, has no money to even buy a cup of coffee in the morning. Rook had a rough past with her family and her abusive boyfriend. She is, what you say, unlucky. But one day, when she came into a coffee shop to buy a drink with the little money she had, a group of girls "accidentally" flicked a business card at her head.

So this is when it gets really interesting. The business card offered a chance to become a model with a pay of $100 an hour. Rook needed the money, so she had no choice but to go to the test shoot. But Rook had no idea what type of world she was stepping into until she had dug in too deep to pull herself out.

I love Rook, she might be broken from the abuse back home, and she shows it, but she doesn't want pity, and even I don't want anyone to pity her. She is strong, she might not shows it on her face, but she really is on the inside. She shuts herself out from anyone that gets too close, even the brooding-hot Ronin (lol, I just realized, ROOK&RONIN : R&R).

Well, what can I say? Ronin was HOT HOT HOT!! He's the type that you would fall head-over-heels for. Well, I didn't because my heart belongs to someone else (*cough cough* Tier). He's a 22-year-old professional model with a sister (Elise) who is Antoine's lover. Of course, I forgot to mention, Antoine is the photographer that basically owns the whole modelling project (since he's the best photographer alive).

I love every single characters in here. I love the relationship between Rook, Ronin, Elise and Antoine. There were a lot of moments that were so funny that I laughed out loud in the middle of the night. You should have seen me, I was crazy!!

"I take another bite of apple and he sighs, trying to peek out the door and see something, but not be noticed for noticing. I can hear them talking, just faintly, but I'm intrigued. 
"Want me to go spy?" I ask, smiling. 
"Oui," he grins back. 
That grin says we have to stick together or they will overpower us. They being woman, us being men. He's forever on this guy thing with me, like we are in some secret fraternal society—sometimes these secret plans even come with a wink."

Man, that bit was so freaking funny!! I don't know why, but I laughed out loud a lot at that bit, it was hysterical!!

Now, this book wasn't just about the fact that Rook needed the money. Yes, she needed it, but she had no idea what type of world she was stuck in. I love the whole plot of this book, there was a meaning to it (I won't reveal it but you will just have to read the book yourself) and I loved it.

Of course, like I said before, J.A. Huss delivered such an epic story of a broken girl stepping into a world that could break her into million of pieces instead of putting her back together. I know it was a change of style of J.A. Huss since her debut series was more futuristic and scientific. But I thought she did an absolutely incredible job at creating this new modern world of fame, money and modelling.

I swear, J.A. Huss can never fail to surprise me. I love her so much! 


P.S: I only have two or three absolute favourite authors, and I can tell you now that J.A. Huss is one of them. I love her so much!!


About The Author


J. A. Huss likes to write new adult books that make you think and keep you guessing. Her favorite genre to read is space opera, but since practically no one reads those books, she writes new adult science fiction, paranormal romance, contemporary romance, urban fantasy, and books about Junco (who refuses to be saddled with a label). 

She has an undergraduate degree in horses, (yes, really–Thank you, Colorado State University) and a master’s degree in forensic toxicology from the University of Florida. She used to have a job driving around Colorado doing pretty much nothing but shooting the breeze with farmers, but now she just writes, runs the New Adult Addiction and Clean Teen Reads Book Blogs, and runs an online science classroom for homeschoolers. 


Saturday, April 27, 2013

BLOG NOTICE BOARD


NOTICE BOARD


Next week, on Monday and Tuesday, I will be absent from this blog due to a school trip to Kent.
While I am excited about going to the trip, I am sad that I won't be posting anything new and that this blog will be absent for two whole days and a half.

I will be back on Wednesday afternoon.
So, I just want to notice everyone that there will be no new posts posted on this blog on
Monday (4/29/13) and Tuesday (4/30/13)

Keep The Page Turning.

June
~x~

STACKING THE SHELVES #2


Stacking The Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews

This week, I haven't bought anything, but I have received a few ARCs and R4R books.
Here they are:

ARCs:

  1. Passion Potion ~ Mary Beth Daniels 
  2. Tragic ~ J.A. Huss (Currently Reading)

R4Rs (Read 4 Reviews):

  1. Slow No Wake ~ Dakota Madison
Three books in total, but I also have a lot of other books in line to read as well. My schedule is so packed right now, but hopefully, I'll read all of them before the end of May. 


Friday, April 26, 2013

REVIEW: Boyfriend From Hell by E. Van Lowe

Boyfriend From Hell by E. Van Lowe

Plot:

Fifteen year-old Megan Barnett and her single mom, Suze, have a special relationship—they are friends, close friends, who do almost everything together.
“But come on, guys, she’s my mother… Can I really tell her that while we’re snuggled up on the sofa watching Spider Man Three, I’m secretly undressing James Franco with my eyes? Of course not…”
The special bond takes a turn for the worse when Suze decides to start dating again. She hasn’t had a man in her life since Megan’s father left ten years ago.
Enter two mysterious young men, Megan’s new classmate, sinfully attractive bad boy, Guy Matson, and the dangerously handsome art dealer, Armando. Before long Megan and Suze both wind up in steamy relationships.
But neither of the handsome pair is quite what he seems. In fact, one of them is Satan, with his sights set on a new bride. Megan has precious little time to figure out how to stop him. If she doesn’t, either Megan or Suze are quite literally going to HELL.


My Review:


I thought this book was so awesome! It was quirky, funny (very funny), a little bit crazy, and it was just....awesome.

At first, I thought, 'oh no, this book is the type of books where mums gets in the way'. But it wasn't like that at all. The story starts with Megan and her mum, they're really close to each other (I wished I was that close to my mother), like best friends close. 

So when Megan's mum decided to start dating again, things gets a bit complicated. Of course, Megan wants her mum to be happy and all that but I can tell that Megan was a bit worried for her mum and maybe even a little bit jealous since there were no boys for her (yet). 

When Megan meet's her mum's new boyfriend, she new straight away that she didn't trust him and doesn't let her mum gets too close. Megan was a very inspirational character, if it was me, I would just stand there and let my mum flirt with whoever she wants. I loved the relationship Megan had with her mum and is very jealous of it, hehehe.

Anyway, you all should know that I am a big sucker for guys. In this book, I was kind of hoping for more 'Guy Matson'. Guy didn't appear much in this book, but the way E. Van Lowe created him was just.....HOT! WOAH! I hope Guy appears in more scenes in the second book but I still love him!!

Overall, this book was awesome!! There were many moments when I laughed a lot, many moments when I just wanted to throw the kindle across the room in frustration but then I wouldn't be able to finish it. I loved it and am moving on to the second one now!!



UPCOMING MOVIE: Pacific Rim Trailer & Information

Pacific Rim 2013 Movie


As everyone should know by now (or most don't), this film is called Pacific Rim. 
This film was produced by Legendary Pictures and will be distributed by Warner Bros. Pictures.

This film looked so freaking cool that I had to write a post about this film. And if anyone has been following me for a long time, you should know that I love robots and zombies apocalypse. 
This film is monsters/robotic/apocalyptic kind of genre and the trailers is AMAZING!! 
(SCROLL DOWN FOR TRAILER)

Now, a little bit about the film:

Plot:


In the near future, giant monsters identified as "Kaiju" rose from a crevice deep in the Pacific ocean, resulting a war that threatens to destroy mankind. To defeat this new threat, a special type of weapon is designed : massive robots, known as "Jaegers", which are controlled by two pilots whose minds are locked in a neural bridge. 

As the time passes, the "Jaegers" are even proven defenceless against the "Kaiju". On its last stand and on the edge of defeat, the remaining defending forces of mankind have no choice but to turn to two unlikely heroes--a former pilot and an untested trainee. Together, they must stand as the human race's last hope against the mounting apocalypse.


 Trailer:



Casts:

  • Charlie Hunnam as Raleigh Becket
  • Idris Elba as Stacker Pentecost
  • Rinko Kikuchi as Mako Mori
  • Charlie Day as Dr. Newton Geizler
  • Burn Gorman as Dr. Hermann Gottlieb
  • Robert Kazinsky as Chuck Hansen
  • Max Martini as Herc Hansen
  • Ron Perlman as Hannibal Chau
  • Clifton Collins Jr. as Tendo Choi
  • Diego Klattenhoff as Yancy Becket
  • Ellen McLain as Jaeger AI. Del Toro secured permission from Valve Corporation to cast McLain in homage to GLaDOS, her homicidal AI character in the Portal video games.
  • Robert Maillet as Aleksis Kaldanovs
  • Heather Doerksen as Sasha Kaidanovsky

This film looks soooo cool and amazing!! I want to see it so bad!! 
Urghh!!!
The film is scheduled to be released 
July 12th 2013
AHHH I CAN'T WAIT THAT LONG!! I NEED IT NOW!!!
Anyway, more updates and information later on.
AAHH SO HAPPY!!



RE-RELEASE EVENT & GIVEAWAY: Love At 11 by Mari Mancusi


Love At 11 by Mari Mancusi


Title: Love At 11
Author: Mari Mancusi
Re-release Date: April 24th 2013
Genre: Contemporary
Event Organised by: AToMR Tours

When Maddy graduated from Columbia University, she was ready to change the world. She'd get a job at Newsline, meet a nice guy, and live happily ever after with a real designer handbag on her arm. Two years later, she's stuck producing puff pieces for News 9 San Diego--where "if it bleeds, it leads." She's still single, her family's falling apart, and so is her knock-off Kate Spade.
Then Jamie Hayes walks through her newsroom door. The former filmmaker is now her cameraman and everything Maddy has ever dreamed of. Creative, smart, and sweet—with eyes that could make a girl melt. The perfect guy…but perfectly unavailable. And the more Maddy tries to stay away—the further she starts to fall.
Now a secret scoop from her favorite knock-off purse guy has Maddy chasing a lead that could make her career. Or destroy it forever. How far is she willing to go to broadcast the truth? And will this breaking news lead to more broken dreams…or an exclusive on Jamie's heart? Stay tuned…
It's the story of a lifetime.
Formerly published as "News Blues."

About The Author

Mari Mancusi used to wish she could become a vampire back in high school. But she ended up in another blood sucking profession --journalism -- instead. Today she works as a freelance TV producer and author of books for teens and adults. 

When not writing about creatures of the night, Mari enjoys traveling, cooking, goth clubbing, watching cheesy horror movies, and her favorite guilty pleasure--videogames. A graduate of Boston University and a two time Emmy Award winner, she lives in Austin , Texas with her husband Jacob, daughter Avalon and their dog Mesquite. You can find Mari online at www.marimancusi.com or www.bloodcovenvampires.com

(SCROLL DOWN FOR GIVEAWAY)



Giveaway!





Thursday, April 25, 2013

REVIEW: Recalled by Cambria Hebert

Recalled by Cambria Hebert


Love or Death? A simple question really. The choice seems obvious. But. What if you never knew love, what if your life was spent just trying to survive? What if you knew your fate before you were fully grown?
And then you died.
And you were given another chance. A better chance.
This new life depended upon one thing: your job. And so you agreed. You thought it would be simple. You thought it would be cut and dry.
It never is.
And now you are left holding the fate of someone else in the palm of your hand and you have to make the ultimate choice.
Love or Death?

My Review:


AMAZING!!!

I received this as a gift from the amazing J.A. Huss (author of the I Am Just Junco series), and when I started reading this, I couldn't stop. AT ALL.

Recalled was such an exciting story, the plot was awesome, the characters were amazingly described. Normally, I'm not into ghost-like books, or anything to do with heaven and hell really. But this book, it BLEW me away. Literally.

First, we get to meet Dex, who lives in the streets and has no home. He did something that changed his life forever, and now he's stuck with a decision to make. Become a Death Escort, or go to Hell. Of course, he chooses to become a Death Escort, but when he get assigned to kill the person that ever cared about him, he has to make a choice. Love or Death?

Dex was such a loveable character. He wasn't a jerk, or a bastard, he wasn't the goodie type, but he wasn't the bad type either. I love everything about him. I never really like to read books in a boy's perspective (maybe because I'm a girl and it's GIRL POWER! LOL), but this book, it was so amazing that I cried out loud at night saying "I NEED MORE DEX". I did shout out loud at night, but luckily my family was downstairs, lol. 

Of course, everyone now wonders who is the girl that is so special that Dex had to choose between his (already dead) life and his love to her. Her name is Piper, she's a poor waitress who is working hard to get her degree as a doctor/nurse. She's just an innocent girl, except she's not. Piper can see visions ever since she was young. Piper is also Dex's target. The target that Dex has to kill.

Piper wasn't annoying, and she wasn't those type of girl who is too innocent that you just want to strangle them and scream "WHY ARE YOU SO STUPID!". Piper is caring about her friends and family, of course, she also cares about Dex, the person she barely knows but had fallen head-over-heels with. I have to say, I haven't read a book that has good-girl in it for a long time, so this book was a great refreshment.

There are also other side characters, and I love all of them. I even love the bad guys!! What can I say, my brain is meshed up. But seriously, other than Dex and Piper, I have to say, I LOVE CHARMING!! 

HOW CAN YOU NOT LOVE CHARMING!! He's cocky, he's funny, he's annoying (in a good way), and he is also another Death Escort that has been killing for fifty years. His name is Charming because he actually is charming. I don't know how he looks like, but I can just imagine him in my head. HOT HOT HOT!! I laughed so much when I read parts of the story when he was in it. I'll give you a sneak peek:

"Don't you know there's a guy code about never nailing another
guy in his family jewels?" Charming said with a 
strained voice.

OH MY GOD! How can you not laugh at that? I'm sorry, but I have to say, I LOVE CHARMING!!

Overall, this story was amazingly amazing! I love the whole plot and nearly cried when it ended because I wanted more and wanted to know what was going to happen. But now I have to wait!! I have to say again, thank you so much to J.A. Huss for gifting me this book in the first place. 

I love the book and cannot wait for the next one!!!!
ahhhhh!!!


About The Author

Author. Blogger. Latte Sipper.
Cambria Hebert is the author of the young adult paranormal Heven and Hell series and the Death Escorts series. She loves a caramel latte, hates math and is afraid of chickens (yes, chickens). She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair. She currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and children (both human and furry) where she is plotting her next book. You can find out more about Cambria and her work by visiting http://www.cambriahebert.com 

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

WAITING ON WEDNESDAY #2: Boy Nobody by Allen Zadoff


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted over at Breaking The Spine.
I know I missed out last week, but that was because I was so busy. 
This week's pick is:



Title: Boy Nobody
Author: Allen Zadoff
Expected Publication: June 11th 2013
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers 


Summary:
They needed the perfect soldier: one who could function in every situation without fear, sympathy or anger; who could assassinate strangers and then walk away emotionally unscathed. So they made Boy Nobody-a teen with no name or history. The perfect soldier.
Boy Nobody is the perennial new kid in school, the one few notice and nobody thinks much about. He shows up in a new high school, in a new town, under a new name, makes few friends and doesn't stay long. Just long enough for someone in his new friend's family to die -- of "natural causes." Mission accomplished, Boy Nobody disappears, and moves on to the next target. 
But when he's assigned to the mayor of New York City, things change. The daughter seems so much like him; the mayor smells like his father. And when memories and questions surface, the Program is watching. Because somewhere, deep inside Boy Nobody, is somebody: the kid he once was, the teen who wants normal things like a real home and parents, a young man who wants out. And who just might want those things badly enough to sabotage The Program's mission.


This book sounds soooo cool...and I've been waiting for it for ages!!! 


About The Author

Allen Zadoff is the author of three YA novels. His debut novel, Food, Girls, and Other Things I Can't Have won the Sid Fleischman Humor Award and was a YALSA selection for Most Popular Paperbacks of 2012. His second novel was My Life, the Theater, and Other Tragedies, the story of a techie hiding from life after a family tragedy. His most recent novel Since You Left Me is set in Los Angeles and tells the story of a religious school student who doesn't believe. He also wrote the memoir for adults, Hungry:Lessons Learned on the Journey from Fat to Thin.

Allen is a graduate of Cornell University and the Harvard University Institute for Advanced Theatre Training. Look for Boy Nobody, a YA thriller series, coming summer 2013 from Little Brown. Visit him on the web at www.allenzadoff.com

BOOK BLITZ & GIVEAWAY: Surrender by Rhiannon Paille

Surrender (The Ferryman and the Flame #1)

Title: Surrender
Author: Rhiannon Paille
Publication Date: October 2nd 2012
Series: The Ferryman and The Flame #1


Plot:

How far would you go to save everything you ever loved? 


Kaliel was warned about her love for the Ferryman. One day he will marry the land and leave Avristar forever. She doesn't listen, and because of what she is-- a Flame-- one of nine apocalyptic weapons, she sparks a war. In a desperate attempt to save her home and her love, Kaliel tries to awaken Avred, not knowing she may have to make the ultimate sacrifice.


 | Goodreads |





Justice (The Ferryman and the Flame #2)

Plot:

How far would you go to destroy yourself?


Krishani always knew he would have to go to the Lands of Men, but he never thought it would be like this. Enemies everywhere, an ancestor he can't respect, elders he can't trust, a curse he can't stop and friends he can't help but hate. Desperate to end the pain, he sets out on a quest to find the other Flames and face the enemy that took everything from him.


Vulture (The Ferryman and the Flame #3)

Plot:


How far would you go to betray everything you've ever known?

Kaliel didn't think second chances came with this much turmoil. Exiled from her home, surrounded by strangers and in love with a boy she barely recognizes, she can't take it. She has her best friend, a new mentor, and a chance to win the war against the Valtanyana, but it's all wrong. Desperate to salvage some semblance of her former life, she makes a deal that shatters everything.




EXCERPT from Surrender (book #1):

The banks of the river were sloppy and full of muck. Krishani watched as clumps of mud were drenched by more of the murky waters, eventually forcing the clumps to fall into the river entirely. He never knew where he was when he dreamed, but they always began like this, in the dead silence, in the din of places he had never been before. The only place he had ever seen rivers were in his dreams, and the only time he heard about rivers was when the brothers talked about the Lands of Men. This river was no exception. He waited for the other thing he would see, the things he had seen since he woke up a child in a forest, abandoned by the men. He remembered they smelled like sweat and firewood. It was a musky male smell that the elders in Avristar never possessed no matter how blistering hot it got in summer. 
Water babbled as it rushed over the rock bed of the river. Little pools of ripples fluttered across the surface. Krishani grew anxious. He hung there, seeing nothing but clumps of mud let go of the banks and follow the ride of the winding river. He peered down-stream and saw it curve and curl as it cut through the tall spruce trees on either side. Part of him wanted to wake up, but part of him hated the reality he would wake up to. Days of careful planning, of menial tasks, nothing like what he endured during the rites; this was much more intense. He was always aware during his dreams, as though he was really there, watching from the shadows. He turned his attention upstream. There was a body floating face down, moving towards him. A white shirt swished around the body and clung to tanned skin underneath. Sandy blond hair covered its head and bare ankles floated up out of the water. Krishani moved instinctively, throwing off his cloak, planning on diving in after the body, but a hand on his shoulder stopped him. 
Krishani looked to his right and saw nothing but the river bank. A tall man with his back turned came into view, plodding along the banks with body language that said he was equally disappointed. The floating body belonged to a child, maybe nine or ten. 
Krishani hung his head and watched the body float downstream, knowing there was nothing he could do to help. The boy was already dead. 


And guess what? Good news!!! 
SURRENDER + JUSTICE will be FREE on 24th April and 25th April. So get it then!!!

And like I said, there is a giveaway. Here are the PRIZES:

ONE lucky winner will win TWO signed copy of
SURRENDER + JUSTICE

It's INTERNATIONAL!!!
WOOOOHHOOO!!

Monday, April 22, 2013

REVIEW: Your Guardian Angel by Skyla Madi

Your Guardian Angel - Skyla Madi

Plot:

   For Ruby Moore life is far more complicated than that of your average teen, for she is in no way average. Ruby is a vampire and her life as a vampire is far from traditional.
   It has been one year since her normal life was brutally taken from her. Still adjusting to the shock of the change from mortal to immortal, her world is rocked again and she is taken under the wings of a guardian angel back to Sage Sanctum- a school beyond reach from the vampires that are determined to destroy her. 
   There, she is freed from her vampiric chains and her normal needs and urges return. However a new urge arises… Lust. A forbidden lust toward her savior, her guardian angel.
   Attempting to control these desires is difficult, very difficult and when things couldn't possibly get any worse, her situation becomes life or death as someone, somewhere in the school is aiding those who want her dead.

My Review:

   WOW! This book hooked me right from the start!! I was addicted and it was so.......page turning (well, you know, my blog is called The Page Turners. Lol).

   I give this book 4.5 stars. 

   I love this book right from the start, how Ruby started by explaining how she got turned into a vampire and her mother got killed in the process. She never wanted this life, her mother was a goddess, so basically, she's half goddess, half vampire. Sounds soooo cool!!!

   So since she's a vampire, there are loads of people running after her. There is her step-father (who is the one that turned her), there are vampire hunters, and there are these guardian angels with invisible wings!! Great twist of angels!!!

   So this is when Eli enters!! Oooohh the hot-brooding Eli, Ruby's protecter and also an urge of lust that Ruby has to fight against since a sexual relationship between a goddess and a guardian is illegal (ooh that word. "Sexual"....it's sounds so cheesy..lol).

   At first, I thought Ruby was the sort of girl who is bad-ass and knows how to kick a jerk's ass. But she's the complete opposite. And that's not a bad thing, because Ruby isn't like other girls who moan and talk a lot, and is a total pain in the ass. She's fresh, she doesn't have feelings between different boys.  There were about three boys chasing after her (not including Eli) and she didn't fall with anybody else except Eli. There is this quote by Johnny Depp that I thought really describe the love interests in this book:
"If you love two people at the same time,
choose the second one,
because if you really loved the first one,
you wouldn't have fallen for the second."
~ Johnny Depp

   I thought that this quote was the total opposite of Ruby, like I said, there were about three guys liking her, and she didn't show interest to any of them except Eli and I love that about her. Most girls in other books would have tiny feelings for one guy, and tiny feelings for other, but Ruby didn't, And I really love that.

   The storyline was amazing, but the reason I gave this book 4.5 stars, was that it was a bit too formal. It was more like people who respect each other than people who are in love (or lust). The way the speeches were really formal wasn't my thing. I'm not saying it's a bad thing but my type of style is more swearing words and rudeness to show how hard-to-knock-down the characters are. But other than that, I completely loved the story. 

   I'm moving on to the second book now, which is: Sun Kissed by Skyla Madi.
 WOOHOO!! Can't wait to start!!!



About The author

Skyla Madi was born in the small town of Port Maquarie, New South Wales in 1993. She spent half her life growing up in Wauchope, a thriving rural town at the heart of the Hastings River Valley before making the leap to the busy city of Brisbane.

Whenever this young Australian writer isn't changing diapers, watching cartoons, cooking for her husband or doing other motherly-wife things she is actively working on her writing and improving her writing skills.

Skyla loves to read just as much as she loves to write and since discovering that YA/paranormal romance/urban fantasy/ are her favourite genres, she has embarked on her own writing journey and is currently working on a YA series titled 'The Guardian Angel series' which is being published by Limitless Publishing.

In the meantime, download her short story 'Without A Heartbeat' on Smashwords. Then come back and review it on Goodreads!


BOOK BLITZ: Flight by Lindsay Leggett


Title: Flight
Author: Lindsay Leggett
Publication Date: April 1st 2013
Genre: YA Science Fiction


Synopsis:


The first rule of survival in the Underground: When you’re outside, keep your eyes on the skies. Ace Harpy Hunter Piper Madden is used to danger, but the death of her brother slams the brakes on her high-torque lifestyle and leaves her broken and confused.

On the run from the dictating Elder Corporation, she’s eventually found in the quiet undergound city of Ichton and asked to work for the Corp on contract to quell a new and frightening Harpy threat.

Enter the discovery of horrifying Corporation secrets, Harpy attacks, and a new friendship with the strange Asher, and Piper’s days become anything but boring.

Then, a chance encounter leaves Piper privy to a dangerous secret, ad as she and Asher team up in an effort to unravel the truth, the secrets they uncover beneath the ancient walls of the dead city will spark their world into a grand-scale war.

 | Goodreads

Purchase

Excerpt

   It always starts like this. My vision starts to blur and the depth of the dirty brick walls plummets into a single plane, like I’m staring into an abyss that never ends. Pins and needles prick their way over my body and I fall backward, sinking through layers of sticky black sludge. I land with a thud and David is before me speaking urgently. His eyes are lined with confusion and anger.

   “Piper, I don’t like what you’re doing. Please, for the sake of our mother and our friends, put an end to it now,” he says to me. We’re at our place in the mountains, the stars peering onto us like frail paper lanterns. I look at him seriously, my hand over my mouth, mind reeling at what he’d said.

   “You don’t understand, David. I love him,” I reply, feeling tears brim my eyelids.
   
   “… … ….” David’s lips are moving, but the noise coming out of his mouth is like raw static.

   “I can’t hear you. What’s going on?” I ask. He looks like I just slapped him in the face.

   “I can’t believe how selfish you are! “… … … ” He shouts, then comes the static again.

   “David, I think there’s something wrong right now. I haven’t done anything!” I cry frantically, grabbing his shoulders and shaking him. He brushes me off and gives me a hard stare.

   “People are going to get hurt, Piper. I need you to understand that!” he shouts.

   “I don’t understand, David!” I plead, “How are people going to get hurt?”

   I hear more static come from his mouth, but he doesn’t seem to notice, he just keeps talking, clearly thinking he’s telling me something important. Frantically, I look around for a clue as to what is going on. When I turn back to him, David’s face starts to deteriorate and his body fades away to dust.



About The Author

Nearly every writer struggles to put together information about themselves, perhaps because we’re so used to detailing the lives and ways of others. For the most part I am a writer, editor, photographer, and all-around artist living in the wilds north of Toronto, Ontario. I thrive on the juxtaposition of beauty and grit, enjoy urban crawls, indie everything, and time well-spent in the woods.


BLOG BLITZ: Possession by S.K. Falls


Title: Possession
Author: S.K. Falls
Publication Date: April 22nd 2013
Genre: New Adult Paranormal

Synopsis:


After I left for college, I thought I’d never see Eden again. But I found myself headed back four years later, destitute and unable to find a job anywhere else. Still, I was adamant nothing would keep me there for long.

Then I met the intoxicating Dax Allard. Copper-colored eyes, skin that emanated an exceptional heat, and a strange “dog” at his side… I was drunk on him.

But Dax’s past was darker than mine, teeming with ancient secrets. Falling for him could cost me my life.

I had two choices: walk away or deal with the perilous consequences.

It was no choice at all.


Purchase

Excerpt


Blood rushed to my face at his tone. “What…” I swallowed. There was no way I’d ask this if I wasn’t hopped up on whatever they’d given me, but I wanted to know. “Have I offended you in some way?”
For a moment, Dax stared at me, confusion coloring every facial feature. When understanding seeped in, his eyes widened. Seemingly unconsciously, he took a step closer to me. In spite of the giant fireplace roaring just a few feet away, I could feel his body heat waft out toward me. He was like a walking furnace. “You think…you’ve offended me?” He actually sounded astounded.
I stared up into his copper gaze, the effects of the drugs somehow melting away. I was completely hypnotized. There was no way I could’ve lied to him, not even if my life had depended on it right then. Nothing else existed in that moment but the two of us—Oscar, the room, even what had just happened to me in the forest fell away. 
In a quiet voice, I said, “You act like I’m the most abhorrent person you’ve ever met. You refuse to come near me. And you don’t want me working for you. Why else would that be?” Ridiculously, I felt a lump in my throat, simply by speaking of his rejection.
A muscle tensed in Dax’s jaw, as if he was physically biting back what he wanted to say. His fists tensed into balls, thick veins standing up on his arms. “Ms. Beaumont,” he finally said. His quiet voice held a hint of a tremor. “Believe me when I tell you I am not in the least… offended by you.” He took a deep breath. “It pains me that you think so.”
“Then…then what is it?” I asked, still gazing into his eyes. 
But he shook his head. 
“Another secret,” I muttered. “You seem to have so many.”
He smirked, his gorgeous face transforming into something hard and bitter as he looked away, toward the windows and the woods outside. “Yes. And none of them are good. It’d be in your best interests to stay away.”
The fire crackled. I realized that sometime during our conversation, Oscar had slipped away. I looked down at my hands, fisted in the blanket. “What if…what if I don’t want to stay away?”
I couldn’t believe I was saying the words out loud. I had just met this man. But somehow I knew that he felt exactly the way I felt. I was beginning to suspect it was the reason he was so…strange around me. There was something between us that eschewed the traditional hesitant, “play it cool” attitude normal guys and girls our age displayed before they got to know each other.
I expected him to become furious or stalk away. It surprised me when he sighed deeply instead. “Then we’re in trouble,” he said, his voice barely a rumble. “Because I don’t want you to stay away either.”


About The Author


A huge fan of spooky stuff and shoes, S.K. Falls enjoys alternately hitting up the outlet malls and historic graveyards in Charleston, SC where she lives and imbibes coffee. Her husband and two small children seem not to mind when she hastily scribbles novel lines on stray limbs in the absence of notepads.
Since no writer’s biography is complete without mention of her menagerie of animals, you should know she has one dog that doubles as a footstool, a second that functions as a vacuum cleaner, and a cat that ensures she never forgets that her hands are, first and foremost, for pouring cat food.




Saturday, April 20, 2013

REVIEW: After Math by Denise Grover Swank

After Math by Denise Grover Swank

Plot:

   Scarlett Goodwin’s world is divided into Before and After.
   Before she agreed to tutor Tucker price, college junior Scarlett was introvert, struggling with her social anxiety and determined to not end up living in a trailer park like her mother and her younger sister. A mathematics major, she goes to her classes, to her job in the tutoring lab, and then hides in the apartment she shares with her friend, Caroline.
   After junior Tucker Price, Southern University’s star soccer player enters the equation, her carefully plotted life is thrown off its axis. Tucker’s failing his required College Algebra class. With his eligibility is at risk, the university chancellor dangles an expensive piece of computer software for the math department if Scarlett agrees to privately tutor him.Tucker’s bad boy, womanizer reputation makes Scarlett wary of any contact, let alone spending several hours a week in close proximity.
   But from her first encounter, she realizes Tucker isn’t the person everyone else sees. He carries a mountain of secrets which she suspects hold the reason to his self-destructive behavior. But the deeper she delves into the cause of his pain, the deeper she gets sucked into his chaos. Will Scarlett find the happiness she’s looking for, or will she be caught in Tucker’s aftermath?


My Review:

WOW! This book went down deeper than I thought (in a good way)!

At first I thought it was just a book about bad-boy good-girl falling in love and all that, it was, but I never knew it would be so emotional. 

So first, we get introduced to Scarlett, who traps herself in maths and school work. She does it to calm herself, to have fun. Scarlett has a rough past, so maths and work keeps her in control. She thought her life was in control, that is, until Tucker come barging into her math club.

Tucker is the sort of bad-hot-and-swoon-boy that we all fall in love with all the time lol. He plays football and is the 'legend' throughout the college. He's a player and is scared of getting near to someone since he could hurt them.

The two totally different worlds collided when Tucker walks in Scarlett's math tutoring room. Scarlett agrees to tutor him and that is it. But when they get to know each other more, things turns complicated. 

I love this book. The emotions and tension between the two was so exciting and I couldn't stop reading. I received this copy from the author in exchange for an honest review. I started the book and couldn't put it down. I was even hesitant to put it down to go to the bathroom lol. 

Anyway, Denise created an amazing world of complicated romance with an edgy past. I loved it. 

"Why do any of us do what we don't want to do?"
"Because we're afraid of what will happen if we don't." 

I love that quote. It was just so mesmerising and beautiful that I had to put it down. Denise comes up with a lot of amazing quotes that had stuck to my head, and I love that. I love how she just create something and put it down, making the world she'd created even more beautiful.

At first, I thought this was just going to be a light love story, but then I never knew the feelings and emotions in here runs so deep (I won't reveal anymore, you will just have to read it).

I love this book and I will be looking for what Denise have in store next :D.
This is a must-read. 
(and did I mention, I FREAKING LOVE THE COVER!! So beautiful)

 | Goodreads |


About The Author

   Denise Grover Swank lives in Lee's Summit, Missouri. She’s a gypsy who can’t live in one place too long or stay in one genre. She writes contemporary romance, urban fantasies without vampires and werewolves, young adult science fiction, and romantic comedy mysteries set in the south. Denise has six children, three dogs, and an overactive imagination. She can be found dancing in her kitchen with her children, reading, or writing her next book. You will rarely find her cleaning. 



Friday, April 19, 2013

REVIEW: Dead Of Eve by Pam Godwin

Dead Of Eve by Pam Godwin

Plot:

   A virus devastates humanity. Few men survive. The rest are monsters. The women are dead, except Evie. Through a quirk in her genetics, she survives. When her physiology begins to evolve, she must come to terms with what she is and accept her role in finding a cure.

   The mutated hunt her. The men brutalize her…except three. Cryptic warrior, contrite lover, caring enemy; they are fiercely protective of the last living woman, but divided in their own agendas. Can they come together to protect the only hope for humanity?


   Evie must survive.


My Review:

I COMPLETELY LOVE THIS BOOK! 
OH MY GOD, there were so much blood and gore! Seriously, for those who loves zombies and gore will completely love this book like I did.

I received this copy from the author herself from a giveaway on Goodreads. IT WAS SIGNED!! HAHAHA!!

Anyway, once I got in the mail, I started it straight away. Normally, I would be finished one or two days after but family business got in the way (and by family business, I mean forced to do homework and a lot of other works). So I had to put it down for a few days before I could start it again.

The characters in here were amazing! Eve (the main character) was strong, brave and cocky. She's the sort of characters I love. She's not annoying (ok, maybe at some point in this book she was, but that's what made me keep reading), or whiny, or full of herself. She's none of that.

I love Pam's way of describing all of the gore and blood in this book. This book has got to be the most goriest book I've EVER read. There were lots of blood and gooey stuff. I found it so disgusting and sick that I had to stop reading for a bit to get my head around (in a good way) but I completely loved it and I HAD to carry on, or I would've died. LOL :D

The other characters in this book was a great addition. There were men that I wanted to kick in the groin and there were men that I fell in love with (like Jesse......hehehe). 

Overall, this book was just gory, bloody, amazingly awesome, and very..........hot (that's all I'm revealing....hehe)

Pam is an amazing author of the 'gory' style. For those who love zombies or blood and gore, GET OVER TO AMAZON OR A BOOK SHOP, BUY THIS BOOK NOW!!! You will not be disappointed. 


About The Author

Pam Godwin lives in Missouri with her husband, their two children, and a foulmouthed parrot. When she ran away, she traveled fourteen countries across five continents, attended three universities, and married the vocalist of her favorite rock band. Now, she resides in her hometown, earning her living as a portfolio research analyst, and living her yearning as a writer.

Java, tobacco, and dark romance novels are her favorite indulgences, and might be considered more unhealthy than her aversion to sleeping, eating meat, and dolls with blinking eyes.





Thursday, April 18, 2013

COVER REVEAL & GIVEAWAY: No Reverse by Marion Croslydon


Title: No Reverse
Author: Marion Croslydon
Publication Date: Summer 2013
Genre: New Adult Contemporary


Book Description:


A girl who needs to undo the past.
A boy who wants to forget it.
In love, there’s no way back.

At high school in Steep Hill, Kansas, Cassie O’Malley and Josh MacBride were the poster couple for quarterback/cheerleader romance until they starred in their own tale of teen pregnancy. No need to say: their shotgun wedding was low-key. But when there was no baby anymore, they went their separate ways.

Five years later, Josh has breezed through Georgetown and is about to finish his post-grad degree at Oxford University. He is set to join a lobbying group on Capitol Hill, owned by his new fiancĂ©e’s father. For Josh, the sky is now the limit… only he must first take care of a tiny legal matter: technically, he’s still married to the girl who broke his heart.

Meanwhile, Cassie has been waiting tables in Steep Hill to pay for her sick grandmother’s care. On the day of the old lady’s funeral, Cassie is served with two sets of papers. Josh is asking for a divorce. Her heart squeezes, but, well, he moved on a long time ago. But the second envelope shakes Cassie to the core. So, for the first time, she leaves Kansas and heads to good ol’ England.

There, Cassie finds that Josh has not just “moved on,” he’s freakin’ engaged to some blue-blooded heiress. The feelings Cassie had buried deep rush back to her. But no matter if he keeps thrusting the divorce papers under her nose, she needs him to save the only person she loves more than Josh, more than life itself…


About The Author

Marion loves to share happy vibes, talk book crush, fictional boyfriends and sexual chemistry with like-minded people. And because she spends most of her days on her own deep inside her writing cave, you are welcome to come and say “hello” from time to time. Just to make sure she doesn’t sink into insanity.
Her friends, family and arch-enemies (there are quite a few) will be forever grateful for your help.




Marion aslo offered us the chance to win an ARC copy of her book!! Wonderful!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

COVER REVEAL: Ten Days by Olivia Mayfield


Title: Ten Days 
Author: Olivia Mayfield
Publication Date: May 2013
Genre: New Adult/YA crossover sci-fi romance

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Cally isn’t like the others. In her society, the Machine caters to every whim, ensuring people don’t have to leave their pods. But Cally and her best friend Marshal find themselves drawn to how things used to be, when people lived on the surface of the earth and relied upon manpower, not technology. When physical contact wasn’t uncivilized, and love was normal, acceptable, embraced. Cally tries to swallow down her increasing dissatisfaction with the "rules," as well as her rapidly developing feelings for Marshal, a task getting harder each day. 

Then, things start going downhill, fast. Food is spoiled. Air grows musty. The population panics about the dysfunction--is it sabotage? Anarchy? But Cally and Marshal discover the truth: The Machine, the answer to all their problems for longer than anyone can remember, is breaking down. Now, these two have to risk it all to save themselves and the people they care about...before their entire world destroys itself.


About The Author:

Olivia Mayfield has been an unabashed fan of romance since she was a young teen, secretly devouring her mom’s Harlequins. She has a bachelor’s degree in Creative Writing, as well as a Master’s degree in English, and lives with her family in Ohio. In her free time, she loves reading, shopping, wearing absurdly high-heeled boots, cheesecake, singing karaoke, and harassing her friends.






Wednesday, April 17, 2013

REVIEW: Assured Destruction by Michael F. Stewart

Assured Destruction by Michael F. Stewart

Plot:

   You can learn a lot about someone looking through their hard drive...

   Sixteen-year-old Jan Rose knows that nothing is ever truly deleted. At least, not from the hard drives she scours to create the online identities she calls the Shadownet.

   Hobby? Art form? Sad, pathetic plea to garner friendship, even virtually? Sure, Jan is guilty on all counts. Maybe she’s even addicted to it. It’s an exploration. Everyone has something to hide. The Shadownet’s hard drives are Jan’s secrets. They're stolen from her family’s computer recycling business Assured Destruction. If the police found out, Jan’s family would lose its livelihood. 

   When the real people behind Shadownet’s hard drives endure vicious cyber attacks, Jan realizes she is responsible. She doesn’t know who is targeting these people or why but as her life collapses Jan must use all her tech savvy to bring the perpetrators to justice before she becomes the next victim.

My Review:

This book was amazing! The characters were so well described that I got lost in this book quite a few times.

Michael did a great job at describing this world of technology and this main character that was brave, strong, cocky......basically, a sort of character that you wish was you. In this book, we are introduced to Janus (Jan for sort). She is a cocky sixteen-year-old that is obsessed in this world of computers and technology. 

To be honest, I don't enjoy books that has a lot of technology. But somehow, this book cracked my skinny nut completely. 

I love the world that Michael created, his way of showing how all of the computer geeks are living. And, I find it VERY cool! I love the way Michael turned this innocent computer world of Janus into a big situation. It's very hard creating up a technology world and using all of those long big words to describe them. But Michael did an amazing job at it.

And I also have to say, THE COVER IS AMAZING! It looks so cool!!

So Janus is basically a geek who loves her computers. And since she has no 'real' friends, she creates her own ones. She even created a website for people to chat on. And I WISH she could teach me how to use photoshop. I'm crap at it. Lol.

I love the way Janus was smarter than anybody else even though they all thought that she was a freak. And as you all know, I am a sucker for romance. In this book, there is a tiny love triangle. Thankfully, the love-romance thing didn't get in the way of Michael building up the tech world, and I find that very hard. But Michael managed it.

Urgh!! How I loveee Johnnnyyyyy!!!! (That's all I'm revealing)

So overall, I love this book. You have to check it out! If you don't, I'll hack your computer and Janus will teach me how to photoshop every personal pictures you have. JOKING!!


About The Author

After crewing ships in the Antarctic and the Baltic Sea and some fun in venture capital, Michael anchored himself (happily) to a marriage and a boatload of kids. Now he injects his adventurous spirit into his writing with brief respites for research into the jungles of Sumatra and Guatemala, the ruins of Egypt and Tik’al, paddling the Zambezi and diving whatever cave or ocean reef will have him. He is a member of the International Thriller Writers and SF Canada, and the author of the Assured Destruction series, 24 Bones, The Sand Dragon, Hurakan, Ruination and several award winning graphic novels for young adults.

RELEASE EVENT: Off Limits by Sawyer Bennett Excerpt + Book Trailer + GIVEAWAY


Title:   Off Limits
Author  Sawyer Bennett
Publisher:  Big Dog Books, LLC
Release date:  April 16, 2013
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Age Group: New Adult
Event organized by: AToMR Tours


Plot:


“There is a vulnerability there, hovering just below the surface. And I want to pick at it until I expose it. Then I want to kiss it." 
Two years ago, Emily Burnham, had an epiphany about the shallowness of her life.  And she made it her mission to become a different person…a better woman.  Out from under the controlling thumb of her mother, Emily is tasting the real world for the first time.  And she likes it.
Nixon Caldwell has served his time in the Marine Corps, surviving two brutal tours in Afghanistan. He is back home, surrounded by what he likes best…isolation.  It's certainly the easiest way to avoid confrontation of the consuming guilt that is weighing him down.
When an accident brings Emily and Nix together, he soon learns he is not the master of his own fate. Struggling with his own pain, Nix tries to guard himself against Emily’s charms.  He wants her in his bed, but he doesn’t want her in his heart.  
Having grabbed life by the horns, Emily wants it all.  But is she willing to accept just the small part of himself that Nix is offering?  Can she reach the part of his soul that he has deemed to be Off Limits?


Trailer Reveal:



Excerpt:


Nix is walking toward us...his eyes focused on Todd. His fists are clenched and pure savagery has taken his face hostage. The first thing that pops into my mind is the fact that Nix has suffered in the past from rage issues. He has wanted to rain violence down when he gets that way.

And I'm suddenly very frightened for Todd right now. I can tell by the furious mask on Nix’s face that he's witnessed the entire exchange between Todd and I. Oh, he wasn't close enough to hear what was said, but I'm sure he saw me struggling to get out of Todd's grasp.

I immediately pull my arm away and step around Todd, walking to intercept Nix. I'm scared of him...by the look on his face. He wants to kill Todd...or at the very least do severe bodily harm to him. And there is a good chance that his wrath may be inadvertently misdirected at me.

I meet Nix five paces from where Todd and I were standing. I lay my hands on his chest and quickly say, 

"Nix...I'm okay. He wasn't hurting me. In fact, it's not what you think at all."

Nix doesn't even look at me but continues stalking toward Todd. I, of course, have no choice but to keep my hands on his chest and now I'm walking backward to keep myself in between the two men.

Without ever taking his eyes off Todd, he says to me, 

"You need to get out of my way, Emily, before you get hurt. I don't have much control right now." His words are harsh and blazing with madness.

I'm terrified and I tell him. In a small voice that quavers, I say, 

"Nix, please. You're really scaring me."



About The Author


Sawyer Bennett is the pen name for a snarky southern woman and reformed trial lawyer who decided to finally start putting on paper all of the stories that were floating in her head. She is married to a mobster (well, a market researcher) and they have two big, furry dogs who hog the bed. Sawyer would like to report she doesn't have many weaknesses but can be bribed with a nominal amount of milk chocolate.





Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...